RSS

Review: Dangerous Desires by Dee Davis

30 Sep

Dangerous Desires (A-Tac, #2)My rating: 3 of 5 stars

As the extractions expert for A-Tac, an elite CIA black ops unit masquerading as faculty at an Ivy League college, Drake Flynn knows how to survive behind enemy lines. But he’s about to meet one adversary he can’t subdue . . . or resist.

A RACE FOR SURVIVAL

Stranded in the Colombian jungle after a mission goes bad, Drake has only one objective: evade the mercenaries hot on his trail and deliver “the package” to U.S. officials. But “the package” has a mind of her own, and she has no intention of trading one set of captors for another. Madeline Reynard is beautiful, headstrong, and hell-bent on escape after years as a crime lord’s pawn. She’ll risk everything for freedom, even if it means deceiving the dark, handsome soldier who now holds her life in his hands.

Drake has been burned too many times to let a woman manipulate him, especially a secretive one like Madeline. Even so, they cannot deny the attraction between them. Now as enemy forces close in, Drake and Madeline must trust each other with their lives—or face certain death.

When I read a book a little outside my usual range, and I’m not thrilled with it, I have a hard time deciding how much is me and how much is the book.  I read a lot of romance novels, but they tend to be regency or contemporary realistic flavors.  Even the romantic suspense has a more distinctly domestic twist to it.  CIA and jungles aren’t part of my everyday pattern.

I kept thinking that if I could just put on the same “just go with it” mindset I do when it comes to movies, I might have really enjoyed it.

There was the kick-ass woman and the guy who comes to her rescue, both of them shooting people right and left, jumping over waterfalls, making their way through the jungle. When they stop moving, the inevitable happens, this being a romance novel.

I mean, what’s not to like?

As it was, I didn’t find the characters (major or minor) to be behaving as I thought they should have in the circumstances. I thought there were a few too many coincidences, and the misuse of technology bugged me, even when the same things wouldn’t have flowed right by me in a movie.

In the end, I was entertained, but this book wasn’t for me.

I received this book for review from Forever/Hachette Book Group.  Thank you for this opportunity!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 30, 2010 in books, reviews

 

Tags: , , , ,

One response to “Review: Dangerous Desires by Dee Davis

Leave a Reply

 
