RSS

BBAW– Unexpected Treasures

14 Sep

The Wednesday blogging topic for BBAW is to talk about an unexpected treasure we’ve found through another blogger– a book or genre we wouldn’t have otherwise picked up.

I came into blogging as an eclectic reader. So far, no one has challenged my prejudice against Westerns and Self Help books. I even resisted the Game On Diet phase going around twitter.

I’ve never objected to reading Young Adult books, but as a practical matter, I didn’t have any sources for regular recommendations. That would have been changing soon, as I would have made an effort to seek out information on books of interest to my 12 year old daughter.

With my introduction to the blogging world, I’ve found many books that I’ve really enjoyed. I’ve shared some of these with my book club, and yes, with my daughter as well. I have the blogging world to thank for my introduction to the Hunger Games Trilogy, Thirteen Reasons Why, If I Stay, Last Night I Sang to the Monster, the Betsy-Tacy books, and many more.

Thank you to all the bloggers out there that have introduced me to fantastic books in many genres, but particularly to reopening the world of YA books to me.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 14, 2010 in blogging, books

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “BBAW– Unexpected Treasures

  1. Debbie's World of Books

    September 15, 2010 at 4:48 am

    I’m glad you read those books! Those are some awesome titles.

     
  2. Suey

    September 15, 2010 at 6:46 am

    Ah, what’s wrong with westerns?! 🙂

    I need to read that 13 Reasons Why book…. it’s been sitting here since Christmas!

     
  3. gautami tripathy

    September 15, 2010 at 7:10 am

    I agree! It is due to book blogging world that I came across great books!

    Here is my BBAW: Unexpected Treasure post!

     
  4. Amanda

    September 15, 2010 at 7:29 am

    Okay so part of me wants to say that I’m going to challenge your prejudice against Westerns and Self-Help, except…well, I myself have those prejudices, so that wouldn’t be very practical, huh? 🙂

     
  5. Iris

    September 15, 2010 at 8:05 am

    Blogging has really helped me find some great YA book that I wouldn’t have known about as well!

     
  6. Amy @ My Friend Amy

    September 15, 2010 at 9:08 am

    I’m challenging my prejudice against Westerns by reading Lonesome Dove! (I share this prejudice)

     
  7. Pam

    September 15, 2010 at 10:16 am

    Loved most of these. Did you ever post your thoughts on Rampant?

     
  8. Trish

    September 15, 2010 at 10:37 am

    Thirteen Reasons Why is one I recently read because so many bloggers loved it! I would have never known what it was without them.

     

Leave a Reply

 
