RSS

BBAW: Introducing Erin

14 Sep

As part of BBAW, I’m participating in a Book Blogger Interview Swap.  My partner is Erin of Lit Snit.  I’ve enjoyed getting to know her, and I’ve added the blog she shares with two of her friends to my Google Reader.  So, here’s what I asked and what she answered.

1) Tell me a little about yourself– all the standard stuff:  age, where you live, what you do with your spare time, what you do that keeps you from having spare time.

I’m 28 and am lucky enough to live in New York City, though I feel like I don’t take advantage of all the awesome things there are to do in the city as much as I should.  I’m kind of a huge TV nerd, so I watch more TV than I probably should.  I have a feeling the new fall TV shows are going to cut into my reading big time these next few months.  I also love going out for a drink or brunch with friends.


2) Now, tell me about your blog– what kind of books, do you have a particular style?

We really review any kind of book.  It’s basically whatever strikes our fancy that week.  We’ve been reviewing a lot of YA lately just because there’s so much good stuff out there right now, but we aren’t limited strictly to any one genre.

As for my style, I just write whatever’s in my head.  I always try to write something ahead of time or outline my thoughts but it usually just comes out stream of consciousness.  I’ll occasionally take notes on what I’m reading and that helps a lot.  We all seem to try to keep things laid back and accessible.


3)  You have blogging partners– how did you meet?

Unsurprisingly, our initial introduction was through books.  We all worked at a bookstore together in New York and became friendly.  None of us work there any more but we stayed in touch.  The blog is not only a great way to talk about what we’re reading, but an excuse to stay connected and keep up with each other’s lives.

4) Why did you (personally and as a group) decide to start a blog?

In our get-togethers a lot of the conversations centered on books: what we were reading, what we wanted to read, what we loved/hated.  Janelle and I both have personal blogs where we would sometimes talk about books, but I was a pretty inconsistent blogger on my own and we decided one Sunday during brunch that it’d be fun to create a place where we could all talk about what we’d read (basically so we’d have time to talk about things other than books when we did get together but we quickly realized the opposite of that happened.  I think most of our conversations are about books these days).  Lit Snit was born from there and just kind of took on a life of it’s own after that.

5) Has your motive for blogging changed since then?

I don’t think so.  Our site is still mainly a place created to have a dialogue about books.  Whether we loved or hated it, we just love to discuss what we’ve read openly and honestly.

I do think our book club has become a place (at least for me) to read books I wouldn’t read otherwise.  Sometimes I get lazy and want to read things that are lighter and easier than more literary fiction that’s out there.

6) Any life lessons learned?  Any trivia?

We’re still pretty new, so no life lessons yet, other than perseverance.  Sometimes it’s hard as a new blog to really know if anyone’s out there reading your stuff.  I feel really fortunate to have two other bloggers with me to keep me going and keep me positive.  Any success or failure is one we can share and it makes the process so much easier having someone to talk to about it.


7) What kind of books do you like to read?  Do you review everything that you read?  If not, how do you decide?

I’ll really read anything.  I’ve been reading a lot of YA lately.  I’ve been missing the heyday of fun, smart chick lit.  It seems harder to find decent chick lit lately.  I do love a good vampire or werewolf story too.

I don’t review everything I read.  Sometimes I don’t have that strong of a reaction to what I’ve read, good or bad, which I’ve realized makes an incredibly difficult, tedious review.  Plus, there are weeks I’ll read four books and some weeks where I can barely get through one.  With our schedule of one review from each of us a week, I don’t always feel the need to review every book I read.


8 ) What’s the best book you’ve read so far this year?  What’s your favorite book so far this year, if it’s different?

We just read The Passage by Justin Cronin, which I really enjoyed.  It’s epic and really long, but worth it.  I don’t think I’ve been that engrossed in a story in a long time.

I really liked The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson too.  Her prose is so beautiful and heartbreaking.  It’s almost poetic.  That one is really near and dear to my heart.

9)  Is there something in particular that makes a book successful for you?  Do you read more for plot, characters, the writing itself, or something else?

I think for me it’s all about the characters.  I need to relate to them, to care about them.  If I’m not emotionally invested in the characters I find it much harder to get through a book.  A good plot is important, but without compelling characters I find a book lacks a certain amount of soul.


10) Ranger or Morelli?

Ha!  Awesome question.  I have been and always will be a Morelli girl.

Thank you Erin!

Be sure to check out Lit Snit, and consider going to read her interview with me!  Enjoy the other BBAW interview swaps as well.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on September 14, 2010 in blogging

 

Tags: ,

12 responses to “BBAW: Introducing Erin

  1. Charlie

    September 14, 2010 at 1:54 am

    Good interview! It was very interesting to hear someone talk about how they go about writing their blog with other people.

     
    • Erin

      September 14, 2010 at 9:48 am

      I don’t think I could do it without them. The idea of doing a book blog on my own was just so daunting. I’m lucky to have them! 🙂

       
  2. Amanda

    September 14, 2010 at 4:52 am

    How fun! I’m envious of you living in NYC! (And Laura, I don’t even understand that last question…I’m so out of it!! :D)

     
    • Laura

      September 14, 2010 at 3:52 pm

      It was a totally silly question about Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum books– the ongoing discussion about which of the two guys Stephanie should end up with was mentioned on the Lit Snit blog, so I figured I was safe asking Erin, even if she gave the wrong answer :-).

       
  3. Beth F

    September 14, 2010 at 4:59 am

    I haven’t read many of the books, but I’m a Ranger gal. I’ll have to check out The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson.

     
    • Erin

      September 14, 2010 at 9:46 am

      The Sky is Everywhere is really great. Let me know what you think when you finish it!

       
  4. Emily and Her Little Pink Notes

    September 14, 2010 at 5:12 am

    I only read the first one (after I saw your casting call) but I think my loyalty towards Morelli is already an incontrovertible fact 🙂

     
    • Laura

      September 14, 2010 at 3:52 pm

      I didn’t become a Ranger fan until well into the series. Keep an open mind :-).

       
  5. Valerie

    September 14, 2010 at 12:05 pm

    Yeah, some of this went over my head, too :-)! It must be fun to share a blog (after you find the right blogging partner)!

     
  6. Cass

    September 14, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    Haha, I love the Morelli/Ranger question–although I’m going to have to side with Laura on that one.

     
  7. Serena

    September 15, 2010 at 9:52 am

    I vote for Morelli too!

     
  8. Colleen (Books in the City)

    September 19, 2010 at 1:00 pm

    I have recently started reading LitSnit – thanks for featuring Erin!

     

Leave a Reply

 
