RSS

Mailbox Monday

12 Sep

My Mailbox looks a little like this one.Mailbox Monday is a weekly post where I talk about the books that have arrived in my house over the last week.

Marcia at The Printed Page hosts the Mailbox Monday Blog Tour. This month’s home is Bermudaonion’s Weblog.

I have books this week!

Jessica Z. by Shawn Klomparens

When Jessica Zorich met a tall, charismatic artist at a San Francisco party, her life had been all about coping: with a baffling and dangerous world, with a mostly inane job, and with a sweet but meandering relationship with her upstairs neighbor. But Josh Hadden doesn’t cope: he’s a man of action, of big visions, and of relationships that span the globe; a man certain of his passions, politics, art, and desire. And what Josh desires most is Jessica – at a time when being desired might be the most desirable thing of all.

I received this book via a contest on Facebook organized by author Theresa Walsh! I read Shawn Klomparen’s other book Two Year, No Rain last year, and enjoyed it. I’m looking forward to reading this one.

The Slippery Art of Book Reviewing by Mayra Calvani and Anne K. Edward

Are you passionate about books? Do you have the desire to share your thoughts about a book with readers, yet are unsure about what makes a good review? Are you curious about the influence reviews have on readers, booksellers, and librarians?

If you’re an experienced reviewer, The Slippery Art of Book Reviewing will serve as an excellent reference tool and amalgam of resources. If you’re a beginner, this book will show you how to write a well-written, honest, objective and professional book review. It will also teach you:
How to read critically.
How to differentiate the various types of reviews.
How to rate books.
How to prevent amateurish mistakes.
How to deal with the ethics and legalities of reviewing.
How to tell the difference between a review, a book report, and a critique.
How to start your own review site.
How to publish your reviews on dozens of sites and even make money while you’re at it, and much more.

If you’re an author, publisher, publicist, bookseller, librarian, or reader, this book will also bring to light the importance and influence of book reviews within a wider spectrum.

I met one of the authors, Mayra Calvani, on the Pump Up Your Blog e-mail list, and she sent this copy for review– thank you Mayra. It will be a take what works for me, and leave the rest read, and I think I’ll be able to improve my review writing this way. I’ll post a review, and let everyone know how it goes for me.

Virals by Kathy Reichs and Brendan Reichs

Tory Brennan, niece of acclaimed forensic anthropologist Temperance Brennan (of the Bones novels and hit TV show), is the leader of a ragtag band of teenage “sci-philes” who live on a secluded island off the coast of South Carolina. When the group rescues a dog caged for medical testing on a nearby island, they are exposed to an experimental strain of canine parvovirus that changes their lives forever.

As the friends discover their heightened senses and animal-quick reflexes, they must combine their scientific curiosity with their newfound physical gifts to solve a cold-case murder that has suddenly become very hot if they can stay alive long enough to catch the killer’s scent.

Pam of Bookalicious passed her extra copy on to me. I missed out on it at BEA, and was disappointed. I’ve been a fan of Reich’s Temperance Brennan books for many years, even before the Bones TV show (which I love).

Pam also loaned my daughter and me The Familiars by Adam Jay Epstein and Andrew Jacobson and The Candymakers by Wendy Mass , and we’re both looking forward to reading them as well.

What new books arrived at at your house?

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 12, 2010 in books, meme

 

Tags: ,

8 responses to “Mailbox Monday

  1. bermudaonion

    September 12, 2010 at 6:29 pm

    I tried to snag a copy of Virals at BEA too, so I’m jealous of that one! Enjoy your new books!

     
  2. Holly

    September 12, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    I love the tv show Bones, but I have not been able to get into the Reichs books. Isn’t that just weird? LOL! The Slippery Art of Book Reviewing has been on my radar for awhile. Enjoy!

     
  3. Kim V

    September 13, 2010 at 5:26 am

    I am looking forward to your review of The Slippery Art of Book Reviewing. It sounds very promising!

     
  4. gautami tripathy

    September 13, 2010 at 10:35 am

    Book look great!

    Have a great reading week ahead! Here is my Mondays: Mailbox/Where Am I/Musings post.

     
  5. Kate

    September 13, 2010 at 11:13 am

    Oooh, the Slipper Art of Book Reviewing looks really good! Adding to my TBR list now!

     
  6. Beth(bookaholicmom)

    September 13, 2010 at 11:34 am

    You’ll have to let us know what you think of the review book. I can use all the help I can get.

     
  7. Aisle B

    September 13, 2010 at 2:16 pm

    Nice loot! Sweet reading & hope you enjoy them ALOT!

     
  8. Mary

    September 13, 2010 at 6:22 pm

    I would like to read The Slippery Art of Book Reviewing. Adding it to the “look for” list. Have a great week!

     

Leave a Reply

 
