RSS

Audio review: Sofie Metropolis by Tori Carrington

08 Sep

Sofie Metropolis (Sofie Metropolis, #1)My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

I’m wondering if I’d read the printed version rather than listening to the audio, would I have spent less of my reading time comparing Sofie Metropolis to Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum?

Sofie’s the same kind of fish out of water, stumbling into crazy situations. Except  she’s trying to be a P.I. rather than a bounty hunter (although both women work for their uncle’s business). And her wacky family is Greek, not Italian. And she caught her ex cheating at the church right before the wedding, rather than after they married.

The goofy dog is much smaller; the sidekicks aren’t as full of personality (which isn’t fair, since I’ve only read one of these books as opposed to sixteen Stephanie Plum books, plus the between the numbers ones).

There’s no love triangle yet, thank goodness. There is a mysterious, highly attractive guy that I thought would take the Ranger/mentor role, but that hasn’t panned out so far– but I’m only one book in.

As I said before, I know these comparisons aren’t entirely fair. Evanovich didn’t pioneer any of these elements, but she’s the most successful at turning them into a “thing”, and that is where my mind went while listening to this book.

So, is Sofie Metropolis as entertaining as Stephanie Plum? There were no laugh out loud moments, but there were some smiles. I’d say it works as well as Evanovich’s more recent non-Plum books. And yes, that could be considered damning with faint praise.

Will I continue with them? Probably, when I went something light and undemanding to listen to– and assuming the second book is available for library download.

Audio Notes

Narrator: Anna Fields does an amazing job with the voices and the accents for the different characters.    Sometimes her voice annoyed me little, but it’s difficult to separate any problems I might have had with it from the overall audio issues I had.

Production: The copy I downloaded from my local library had some audio quality problems.  It sounded like the microphone was in a tin can, with a metallic, echoing sound.  I don’t know if that’s a general problem with this audiobook, or if the situation would be better if you acquired the book from a different source.

Audio vs. Print:  I have mixed feelings on this one.  I suspect that if I’d torn through it on paper, I would have spent less time comparing and contrasting Sofie and Stephanie, and just enjoyed the ride.  On the other hand,  I doubt I would have taken the time for this book in print, and sometimes a nice fluffy audiobook is just what I need.  If I continue with this series, it will be in audio, but I’m not sure I’d recommend that medium for it.


 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 8, 2010 in books, reviews

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Audio review: Sofie Metropolis by Tori Carrington

Leave a Reply

 
