RSS

Giveaway: Oogy by Larry Levin

04 Sep

Oogy: The Dog Only a Family Could Love

I’m really more of a cat person than a dog person.  Although I still really want a new kitten someday, I’m beginning to understand the charms of a sweet, well behaved dog.

When I was at BEA (Book Expo America) I saw this book, and the cover reached out and grabbed me.   When I got home, it had the same effect on my daughter.   I haven’t read it yet, but will soon– check back here for my review.

In 2002, Larry Levin and his twin sons, Dan and Noah, took their terminally ill cat to the Ardmore Animal Hospital outside Philadelphia to have the beloved pet put to sleep. What would begin as a terrible day suddenly got brighter as the ugliest dog they had ever seen–one who was missing an ear and had half his face covered in scar tissue–ran up to them and captured their hearts. The dog had been used as bait for fighting dogs when he was just a few months old. He had been thrown in a cage and left to die until the police rescued him and the staff at Ardmore Animal Hospital saved his life. The Levins, whose sons are themselves adopted, were unable to resist Oogy’s charms, and decided to take him home.

Heartwarming and redemptive, OOGY is the story of the people who were determined to rescue this dog against all odds, and of the family who took him home, named him “Oogy” (an affectionate derivative of ugly), and made him one of their own.

Oogy will be in stores on October 12.   If you win this giveaway, you may or may not have it in your hands by then, but it should be close!

To Enter

Hachette Books/Grand Central Publishing are allowing me to pick 2 winners of this book.

Having an address (not a PO Box) in the US or Canada is a requirement. I’ll pick the winners on the evening of September 24, 2010.  One winner per household– if you win on two blogs, please let one of us know, so we can pick a new winner (and thank you to all of my readers that already do this!)

So:

  1. Leave a comment to enter.  I’ll get your e-mail address if you are on WordPress or you enter it where requested.  Make sure it is valid!  This is all you need to do.
  2. If you have additional entries (see below), you can leave them in the same comment, or a different one.  Whatever you prefer.
  3. For an additional entry, let me know if you subscribe to my blog via a blog reader (RSS) or e-mail, or if you follow me on Twitter. Thank you to my current subscribers, Welcome if you are new to my blog.
  4. One more entry if you let other people know about this giveaway! On your blog, on Twitter, or another social site. Just leave a note in the comments.
  5. As a bonus (for an additional entry) tell me about your favorite kind of pet:  Dog?  Cat? Fish? Reptile?  Rodent?  Virtual?

Good luck!

Warning, the story in this video is horribly sad.

 
40 Comments

Posted by on September 4, 2010 in books, giveaway

 

Tags: , , ,

40 responses to “Giveaway: Oogy by Larry Levin

  1. Wanda B

    September 4, 2010 at 7:27 pm

    This looks like a wonderful book! I would love to win it!

     
  2. Wanda B

    September 4, 2010 at 7:28 pm

    I subscribe to your RSS Feed through Google Reader.

     
  3. Wanda B

    September 4, 2010 at 7:28 pm

    My favourite type of pet is a dog. I have one right now and I love him to bits!

     
  4. Moridin

    September 4, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    Comment.

     
  5. Stacie

    September 5, 2010 at 5:42 am

    Please count me in.

     
  6. Stacie

    September 5, 2010 at 5:42 am

    Email subscriber

     
  7. Beth C

    September 5, 2010 at 6:04 am

    I’d love to read this book. Thanks!
    pbclark(at)netins(dot)net

     
  8. Beth C

    September 5, 2010 at 6:04 am

    I am an email subscriber.
    pbclark(at)netins(dot)net

     
  9. Beth C

    September 5, 2010 at 6:06 am

    I have two cats, Ruby and Reba, but I think a pet dog would be a lot of fun too!
    pbclark(at)netins(dot)net

     
  10. Victoria Zumbrum

    September 5, 2010 at 8:34 am

    I am a follower and email subscriber. Please enter me in contest. Tore923@aol.com

     
  11. karenk

    September 5, 2010 at 10:15 am

    thanks for the opportunity to read this novel 🙂

     
  12. karenk

    September 5, 2010 at 10:15 am

    email subscriber 🙂

     
  13. karenk

    September 5, 2010 at 10:16 am

    i like dogs 🙂

     
  14. sue brandes

    September 5, 2010 at 2:49 pm

    I’m glad that poor little dog finally got a good family. Would love to read this book.
    katsrus(at)gmail(dot)com

     
  15. sue brandes

    September 5, 2010 at 2:50 pm

    Email subscriber.

    katsrus(at)gmail(dot)com

     
  16. sue brandes

    September 5, 2010 at 2:51 pm

    I am a cat person. I did grow up with dogs. I can’t have one where I live now.

    katsrus(at)gmail(dot)com

     
  17. Carla Pullum

    September 6, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    Herat warming story! Count me in!
    Carla
    cpullum(at)yahoo(dot)com

     
  18. Benita

    September 7, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    I’d really love to read this book. Please count me in.

    bgcchs(at)yahoo(dot)com

     
  19. Benita

    September 7, 2010 at 5:14 pm

    I’m a new email subscriber.

    bgcchs(at)yahoo(dot)com

     
  20. Benita

    September 7, 2010 at 5:15 pm

    My favorite pets are puppies. They’re so loyal and faithful.

    bgcchs(at)yahoo(dot)com

     
  21. Ruthie B

    September 7, 2010 at 10:39 pm

    I would really like to read this. Please enter me, thanks.
    FB fan

    ruthiekb72@yahoo.com

     
  22. Ruthie B

    September 7, 2010 at 10:40 pm

    New email subscriber

    ruthiekb72@yahoo.com

     
  23. Ruthie B

    September 7, 2010 at 10:51 pm

    My husband brought home a puppy when we were first married that was in on sale in a pet store. She was a mixed schnauzer & a poodle called a ‘schnoodle’. We called her Pookie & had her for 12 years until she died of natural causes. RIP Pookie…we love you.

    ruthiekb72@yahoo.com

     
  24. Judy

    September 11, 2010 at 2:26 am

    I am also a more of a cat person. I’m also partial to turtles.

    I’m here via RSS.

    Thanks for the giveaway!

     
  25. emily l

    September 16, 2010 at 6:32 pm

    I would love to be entered, thanks! 🙂

    misusedinnocence@aol.com

     
  26. Lora1967

    September 18, 2010 at 11:19 am

    I would love to be entered thanks
    chaarmedone1512@aol.com

     
  27. Jody Rogers

    September 19, 2010 at 5:55 pm

    I am an animal lover and Oogy is soooo cute, I would love to read this story.

    Also, would like to say thank you for all that you do for all of us to be able to enjoy such a wonderful website!! Greatly appreciated!!

     
  28. Susan Helene Gottfried

    September 20, 2010 at 12:06 pm

    No need to enter me, babe. I’m dropping in to say thanks for the e-mail. I’ve got this posted at Win a Book for you.

     
  29. Penny Tuttle

    September 20, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    Choosing a favorite animal is hard for me – I have two dogs that go everywhere with me, but also raise foster kittens for the local humane society, so I have lots of cats as well. Obviously the book OOGY appealed to me and I’d love to win a copy. Thanks.

     
  30. Lori Barnes

    September 22, 2010 at 5:03 am

    This is such a sad story of how animals are mistreated and abused though having a loving story to, Thank God these people took in this dog and give him so much love after all he’d suffered!
    photoquest(at)bellsouth(dot)net

     
  31. chandragarbanzo

    September 22, 2010 at 9:25 am

    Thank you for the chance to win. It looks like a wonderful story.

    I also follow your RSS feed. btw, how can you tell when someone is following your RSS feed? I’d like to see if anyone follows mine.

     
  32. Susan

    September 22, 2010 at 6:41 pm

    Oogy sounds like such a good dog, with a great story! Would love to win – thanks for the chance. 🙂

     
  33. Susan

    September 22, 2010 at 6:44 pm

    I follow you on Twitter (my username is safoga) and I also subscribe to your blog via Google Reader.

     
  34. Susan

    September 22, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    I tweeted about this giveaway here: http://twitter.com/safoga/status/25266080356

     
  35. Susan

    September 22, 2010 at 6:51 pm

    My favorite kind of pet is a dog. How wonderful it is to have something so loyal and loving wag its tail every single time you come home? You just don’t get any better than that!

     
  36. JHS

    September 22, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    JHS
    Colloquium

    jhsmail at comcast dot net

     
  37. karenk

    September 23, 2010 at 7:11 pm

    thanks for the chance to read this fabulous book 🙂

     
 
