RSS

August Wrap-up

01 Sep

However you look at it, August was a good reading month, with many books read, lots were good and some were amazing.

Books read:

Books on paper:

Books on my Nook:

  • (5 stars) Mockingjay (Hunger Games #3) by Suzanne Collins (link is to my not a review, review coming soon)
  • (3.5 stars) Crazy for Love by Victoria Dahl
  • (3.5 stars) Chosen by Chandra Hoffman

Books on my MP3 player:

  • (5 stars) Mockingjay (Hunger Games #3) by Suzanne Collins (see above)
  • (3.5 stars) Full Bloom (Full Series #5) by Janet Evanovich, Charlotte Hughes
  • (4.5 stars) Dreams Underfoot (Newford, #1) by Charles de Lint
  • (4 stars) Desperate Duchesses (Desperate Duchesses #1) by Eloisa James
  • (4 stars) The Island by Elin Hilderbrand
  • (4.5 stars) The Mystery of Grace by Charles de Lint
  • (3 stars) Bitten (Women of the Otherworld #1) by Kelley Armstrong
  • (4 stars) Enthusiasm by Polly Shulman

That’s 9 books on paper, 3 books on my Nook, and 8 audiobooks this month, for a total of 19 books this month (yes, I realize that math doesn’t work– I read Mockingjay on my Nook as well as listened to it, so I’m counting it in both categories, but only counting it as one book total. I’ve read a total of 122 books this year (64 paper,  9 Nook, 50 audio)!  I also listened to parts of Thirteen Reasons Why in preparation for my book club meeting, and have one audiobook that I abandoned and am unsure as to whether I will return.

The quality this month was also high.  Mockingjay and Last Night I Sang to the Monster were my top books of the month, but If I Stay would easily have made that pick most months this year, and The Cookbook Collector and The Mystery of Grace both would have been in the running at least some to the time.  Interestingly, the first 3 are all Young Adult (YA) books– The 6 YA books I read is higher number than usual for me, and I’m glad that mood hit me this month.

However, the run of YA books I read has some bearing on a less pleasant trend in last month’s reading.  Six books I read (4 of them YA) had terrible things happening to children or teens as a significant part of the book.   Four more had it as a side plot or passing occurrence.  I’m really hoping to avoid this for a while, now!

I published 14 reviews this month, same as last month and similar to June, so that seems to be a stable number for me. I’ll continue to refine my process for choosing what books get reviewed.  I admit, there are books I enjoy more knowing that I don’t need to figure out what to say about them.  I would like to review more audiobooks next month.

Coming up:

I’m planning to read The Life  You’ve Imagined by Kristina Riggle to discuss on Devourer of Books next week.  I’m reading her other book, Real Life and Liars, for one of my book clubs toward the end of the month.  My other book club will be reading/discussing The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot.  For a TLC tour, I’ll be reading Coming Home and Home Again by Mariah Stewart.  Who knows what else, beyond those!

September presents a challenge for me, in that it is the start of a new TV season.  I like TV, but cut way down on my viewing over the summer.  I haven’t been missing it, but do I want to check out all of the new shows that might be interesting?   I usually would.  This could cut down on my reading time!  I’m not going to stress over it, either way.

I hope you enjoyed your August reading, and that September is even better.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on September 1, 2010 in books, summary

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “August Wrap-up

  1. Jen - Devourer of Books

    September 1, 2010 at 4:46 am

    You are an audio machine! I did 5 this month (about 70ish hours worth) and that’s about as much as humanly possible for me. I hope you enjoy Kristina Riggle’s work, since you’re reading all of it this month!

     
  2. Scorpio M.

    September 1, 2010 at 7:53 am

    Wow, I am so impressed! I wish I could cover as many books as you in a month.

     
  3. Melissa

    September 1, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    Those are some mighty impressive numbers! I am jealous (in a good way) of those 122 books read for the year! Love it.

     
  4. Sue Jackson

    September 1, 2010 at 4:53 pm

    Wow, you read/listened to a lot this month! And 14 reviews is very productive for a single month. I’m happy if I can get 1 or 2 a week posted – too many other things vying for my time (including work I actually get paid for!).

    Sounds like you read some really good ones this month. I’m enjoying a lot of kids and YA lately, too.

    Sue

     
  5. gautami tripathy

    September 4, 2010 at 2:28 am

    You read some good novels.

    Here is my August Wrap Up post!

     

Leave a Reply

 
