RSS

Not a review: Mockingjay (No spoilers)

24 Aug

I’m not writing my review yet because right now, anything other than the vaguest references to Mockingjay can be seen as spoilers for those that have been waiting for a year to read this book.  I’ll post my review next week.  I’ll try to strike my usual balance of talking about the book but not including spoilers.

For those that don’t know, Mockingjay is the third book in the Hunger Games trilogy by Suzanne Collins, following The Hunger Games and Catching Fire.

I’m one of those that has been eagerly awaiting this book since I read Catching Fire (last September).

Today (August 24) is release day.  I pre-ordered a copy at a local independent book store, and will pick it up at their release party tonight!

But I’m not that patient.  And then there’s that issue of one copy of the book and two of us fighting over it).  So I bought a copy on my Nook when it was released at midnight.  The best part was that it was released slightly after midnight Eastern time, and I’m over on the west coast, so I was lucky enough to be reading by 9:30pm.

I didn’t plan well enough to be able to get right to reading, but even with interruptions, I was finished not long after 1:30 am.  Wow.  I had to decompress before going to sleep.

After getting up this morning, my thoughts on this book are still “wow”.

This book works at a variety of levels– as an adventure, as a coming of age story, and as a reflection of the ethics of war.

Let me know if you know of any place to discuss Mockingjay where spoilers are allowed (and where unsuspecting people won’t stumble into it).  There’s a lot to talk about here.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on August 24, 2010 in books

 

Tags: ,

8 responses to “Not a review: Mockingjay (No spoilers)

  1. Sue Jackson

    August 24, 2010 at 2:14 pm

    Can’t wait!!!

    Sue

     
  2. brizmus

    August 24, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    Thanks for holding off on the spoilers – I SO can’t wait for my copy to arrive!

     
  3. nanscorner

    August 24, 2010 at 5:36 pm

    I bought my copy today! I can’t wait to read it. 🙂

     
  4. chandragarbanzo

    August 24, 2010 at 9:56 pm

    My daughter brought her copy home today. I’ll have to wait my turn, but it’s something I’ve looked forward to all year. Thanks for the lack of spoilers.

     
  5. Crystal F

    August 25, 2010 at 5:49 am

    I got it on my Kindle yesterday, was going to wait on it from the library and couldn’t stand it. I only read the first chapter last night but I’m already hooked. I would have read more, but have other reading commitments at the moment, so I’ll try to steal a chapter here and there. Glad to hear it’s “wow”.

     
  6. Britt, Book Habitue

    August 25, 2010 at 8:20 am

    I need to read these…. Sigh…

     

Leave a Reply

 
