RSS

Friday 56: Nerds Heart YA

13 Aug

Here I am again, with the Friday 56 from Storytime With Tonya and Friends .

I’m cheating a little this week. When I reached for my closest book, it was (as usual) the book I’m currently reading– Rowan the Strange by Julie Hearn.

I’m reading this for the Nerds Heart YA competition, which is an effort to get “more visibility for fantastic, under represented books”. I was selected as a backup judge when one was needed at the last minute. I’m reading the aforementioned book as well as Last Night I Sang to the Monster by Benjamin Alire Sáenz. These books have both survived two matchups to date, and I have to pick just one to continue to the final round!

I’m going to include both books in this week’s post.

The rules are:

  • Grab the book nearest you. Right now.
  • Find the fifth sentence.
  • Post that sentence (plus one or two others if you like) along with these instructions on your blog or (if you do not have your own blog) in the comments section Tonya’s blog.
  • Post a link along with your post back to Tonya’s blog.
  • Don’t dig for your favorite book, the coolest, the most intellectual. Use the CLOSEST.

From Rowan the Strange by Julie Hearn:

Rowan blinked. Had he imagined it? All those people back there climbing ladders, carrying baskets, pulling fruit from the trees, but with their gas masks on? They had looked terrible with their faces all covered like that; terrible and strange, like aliens come down from another planet to plunder the garden of England.

From Last Night I Sang to the Monster by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

So, when he takes me home, he says to me, we’re just sitting in his car, and he says to me, “Listen, Zach, have you ever kissed anybody?”

And then I see where we’re going with this, but I want to play it cool because, well, I liked Sam, and I didn’t want to freak out because I freak out way too much and really it’s no big deal that the guy wants to kiss me because, well, it wasn’t as if he was scary or anything. But I have to say I started to feel really anxious and I wasn’t about to kiss him. I mean, the guy was good looking and smart and he had these serious green eyes and he was all the things most guys want to be and all of that and I knew a lot of girls that would have really like to kiss the guy, but I, well, that just was not going to happen.

I have to say that both quotes are representative of their books stylistically, but misleading as far as the primary focus of each book. I guess that’s part of the fun of Friday 56, puzzling out where the red herrings are.

Let me know what you think of these quotes, and if you have one of your own, point me to it (and don’t forget to head back to Tonya’s Place).  And don’t forget to come back here on August 20 to see which book advances to the next round!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 13, 2010 in books, meme

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Friday 56: Nerds Heart YA

  1. Amanda

    August 13, 2010 at 10:23 am

    Glad you found a copy of Rowan! I couldn’t find it anywhere and in the end Meg had to send me hers, and then I had to send the same copy off to Susan for the next round! Crazy. 🙂

     
  2. laurelrainsnow

    August 13, 2010 at 1:42 pm

    This sounds intriguing…hope you enjoy the books.

    Here’s my 56:

    http://laurelrainsnowswonderland.wordpress.com/2010/08/13/friday-memes-56-book-beginnings/

     
  3. Nicole

    August 13, 2010 at 2:01 pm

    I love Rowan I hope you enjoy it!

     
  4. Amy Durham

    August 13, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    Thanks for coming by my blog! And I think it’s fine that you used two 😉

    There can never be too many books!

     
  5. Jennifer Oberth

    August 13, 2010 at 5:07 pm

    The first one sounds like that episode of ‘Doctor Who’ with the famous ‘Are you my Mummy?’ line.

    The second one sounds really cute. The stream of consciousness talking – I love it! It sucks me in.

    Great Friday 56.

    My Friday 56 is The Fugitive

     

Leave a Reply

 
