RSS

Review: Grace Under Pressure by Julie Hyzy

07 Aug

Grace Under Pressure (A Manor of Murder Mystery, #1)My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

Grace Under Pressure was overall a very pleasant cozy mystery. I enjoyed my time reading it, but one I finished very little of the book stuck with me.

From Julie Hyzy’s website:

Everyone wants a piece of millionaire Bennett Marshfield, owner of Marshfield Manor, but now it’s up to new curator Grace Wheaton and handsome groundskeeper Jack Embers to protect dear old Marshfield. But to do this, they’ll have to investigate a botched Ponzi scheme, some torrid Wheaton family secrets — and sour grapes out for revenge.

Hmm.

I liked Grace, the story’s lead character. I particularly enjoyed her interest/obsession with the Marshfield Manor. On the other hand, I have mixed feelings about her family’s history with the Manor and its inhabitants. I can’t even say why, just that it didn’t settle well.

Grace’s gung-ho approach to her job and the murder investigation were what made the book work, both as far as moving the story along and making i fun to read.

None of the characters really popped to life for me. Grace had some texture and interest as a , but the rest of the characters seemed flat, amusing but not quite funny enough to be caricatures. The two gay roommates, the nosy office secretary, the good looking gardener (I mean landscape designer), the overworked detectives, the overzealous private eye…

Everything fit together to make this a pleasant read. I’m interested in the way the pieces fit together to set up for future books, so I’ll probably pick up the next one, and see how it goes.

I received Grace Under Pressure for review from Dana at Kaye Publicity. Thank you for the chance to read and review this book!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 7, 2010 in books, reviews

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Review: Grace Under Pressure by Julie Hyzy

  1. Belle

    August 8, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    Sounds like a nice read. What you write about the secondary characters, I find that a lot with cozies, I’m not sure why. But it doesn’t make them any less pleasant to read, oddly enough!

     

Leave a Reply

 
