RSS

Review: If I Stay by Gayle Forman

06 Aug

If I StayMy rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

Wow. Just, Wow.

Mia would have been an interesting girl to get to know even in a less eventful book.

Just her story as a classical musician in a family of rockers alone would have been worth reading.

Just the story where she was a teen in a family where both parents loved her and she loved them, and they could talk about some (although not all) of the relatively normal teenage things she experiences, that story could be a good one.

Just the story of her best friend and her boyfriend and how they all learn to respect each other and their relationships. That might be enough.

But all that is the background. The real story is after a car crash, it is what Mia is thinking, as she’s reflecting on her life, on her possible death, and trying to decide what will happen if she stays.

 
12 Comments

Posted by on August 6, 2010 in books, reviews

 

Tags: , ,

12 responses to “Review: If I Stay by Gayle Forman

  1. Patty

    August 6, 2010 at 2:39 pm

    Congratulations on your win…is it dinner with an author…that is fabulous!!!

     
  2. bermudaonion

    August 6, 2010 at 7:15 pm

    This book sounds so good. I’m glad to see you enjoyed it!

     
  3. Amanda

    August 7, 2010 at 9:13 am

    I really should give this a second try. The first time, I didn’t make it that far in.

     
    • Laura

      August 7, 2010 at 7:24 pm

      It started slowly for me, it took some time to get to know the characters. I put it down for a while due to circumstances (it was my emergency backup book in my car, and after I started it, I gave it to my daughter, who was without a book), and I took a little while to get back to it. I’m very glad I did.

       
  4. kay

    August 7, 2010 at 5:11 pm

    I loved that one too. I’m glad to know you loved it, too!

     
  5. Kandace

    August 7, 2010 at 5:22 pm

    I really liked that book when I read it. There have been similar ones recently that were just as good. Which I’d recommend if I were Home & had my List. Because I do have lists since I read way too much to keep Everything straight. 🙂

     
    • Laura

      August 7, 2010 at 7:21 pm

      If you remember later, I’d enjoy seeing what other books you recommend!

       

Leave a Reply

 
