RSS

Review: Wicked Intentions by Elizabeth Hoyt

05 Aug

Wicked Intentions (Maiden Lane, #1)My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Wicked Intentions isn’t just spicy hot, it’s also on the naughty side! What surprised me was the exploration of  the implications of the somewhat unconventional  sexuality in the book.

Temperance is a highly respectable widow, devoting her life to helping young orphans and foundlings.

Lord Caire is highly disreputable, and this opinion of him is well deserved. He has no interest in looking for a wife, but spends considerable time with mistresses and prostitutes that will allow him to indulge in his preferred activities.

Unsurprisingly, Lord Caire needs to learn to love, and Temperance proves the teacher that he needs.

Temperance’s journey took a different path than I expected in the beginning, however. She needed to understand her past behavior and forgive herself. Discovering the power of her sexuality helped with this. Experimentation with Lord Caire brought new understanding to herself and to him as well.

As is often the case for me with romance novels, I found the heroine interesting and compelling. I didn’t see the appeal of the hero anywhere near as much, but I could tell that she did, and that was enough.

There were a number of loose threads left hanging with other characters in the book. I’m attributing these to the “Book One in the Maiden Lane Series” designation.

Elizabeth Hoyt’s To Desire a Devil was my top romance read last year.  As it was the only book I’d read by her, I didn’t know if that was a fluke.  I didn’t like this one quite as much, but I certainly enjoyed and appreciated it, and am now certain I’ll continue to read her books.

Thanks to Grand Central Publishing/Hachette Book Group (who provided me with a review copy of this book), I’m also hosting a giveaway of 5 copies of Wicked Intentions! Be sure to check it out!


 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 5, 2010 in books, reviews, tour

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Review: Wicked Intentions by Elizabeth Hoyt

Leave a Reply

 
