RSS

July Wrap-up

01 Aug

Overall, July was a good reading month. I read a lot of books.  Most of them were good, and there were a couple of standout stars. I read

Books on paper:

Books on my Nook:

Books as Audio

  • (3.5 stars)Blindman’s Bluff (Peter Decker/Rina Lazarus, #18) by Faye Kellerman (not reviewing)
  • (4.5 stars)The Soloist by Steve Lopez
  • (4 stars)The Search by Nora Roberts
  • (3.5 stars)Life’s a Beach by Claire Cook (review might be coming)
  • (4 stars)This Time Together by Carol Burnett
  • (4 stars)An Abundance of Katherines by John Green (review scheduled 8/5)
  • (not sure)The Postmistress by Sarah Blake (review probably coming)
  • (not sure)In the Woods by Tana French (review might be coming)

(Click on the book title for my review).

This gives me 7 paper books, 3 Nook books, and 8 audio books, for a monthly total of 18 books!   This brings me to a total of 103 books this year (55 paper, 6 Nook, 42 audio).  I also spent some time skimming through The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by , which I’ve read before, since we were discussing it for book club, but I’m not counting that.

My favorite books for the month were The Disappearing Spoon and The Language of Trees.  I haven’t yet rated my last two audiobooks of the month. Both were very uneven for me, and I’m not sure how much was the book, how much the narration, and how much was my state of mind.

I think my blog has had a good month as well.  I’ve posted 14 reviews!  I’ve decided it’s OK to read a book and not review it, if I don’t have any obligation to do so.  I have one book I read that I’m not planning to review, and two more that I’m not sure about.  I also posted a cute (and bookish) cat photo and wrote a long post about my role in my daughter’s reading material.

I posted two book giveaways, The Disappearing Spoon and Deadly Fear. Both are still running, and I’ve got more coming up!

Other bloggy work includes creating a facebook page for my blog, please come tell me you like me!  I’ve updated my sidebar and complete list of reviews as well.

Coming up for August, I’ve got Broken Glass Park by Alina Bronsky for one of my book clubs.  The other is reading Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher, which I’ve already read.  I’ll decide whether to reread/skim/rely on memory.  I’m also reading Wicked Intentions by Elizabeth Hoyt and The Boy Who harnessed the Wind by William Kamkwamba and Bryan Mealer for blog tours.  Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins is on my immediate must read list as well.  After those, who knows what else!

How was your July? What do you have planned for August?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 1, 2010 in books, summary, Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

One response to “July Wrap-up

  1. gautami tripathy

    August 1, 2010 at 6:49 am

    I loved The Language of Trees. I have scheduled my review to come up on Tuesday.

    TSS: What Books I Read in July

     

Leave a Reply

 
