RSS

Review: A Kiss at Midnight by Eloisa James

27 Jul

A Kiss at MidnightMy rating: 4 of 5 stars

I enjoyed reading this take on the Cinderella story.

The author describes it as more fairy tale than historical fiction, and that seems right. The story was full of fuzziness of setting and improbable coincidences that really worked because of that tie.

Kate (Cinderella) is the granddaughter of an Earl. Her mother was sickly but very rich, and her very good looking father married for access to that money, but not for love or affection. Her mother died, and her father immediately remarried a woman with a beautiful daughter (Victoria), about 5 years younger than Kate.

Kate finds it necessary to stay around to protect the staff and the tenants on her father’s estate, so her stepmother has a way to convince her to take part in a truly hare-brained scheme to pretend to be Victoria on a trip to see her fiance’s extended family, including a prince!

Yes, there are glass slippers, a ball, a previously unknown godmother (no fairies, though), a midnight escape… There are also fireworks, three silly little dogs, several steaming hot scenes, primary characters with some depth, funny secondary characters…

A very fun read.

I picked up A Kiss at Midnight at Book Expo America for review purposes.  Actually, I didn’t pick up the book itself, I picked up a card that allowed me to download it and transfer it to my Nook once I arrived home.  Very cool!  Thank you to Harper Collins for providing this electronic copy.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 27, 2010 in books, reviews

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Review: A Kiss at Midnight by Eloisa James

  1. bermudaonion (Kathy)

    July 27, 2010 at 4:09 am

    I’m not sure that’s for me, but I’m glad you enjoyed it.

     
  2. Meghan

    July 27, 2010 at 5:38 am

    I really enjoyed this one – I loved the fairy tale feel of it! Eloisa James is definitely one of my favorite romance authors.

     
  3. Trisha

    July 27, 2010 at 3:31 pm

    Naughty Cinderella. Sounds hot. 🙂 This is a unique suggestion for me. Thanks.

     
  4. HistoricalRomanceJunkie Rita

    July 27, 2010 at 11:17 pm

    Great review.. so glad to have found you in the BookCityChick comments! and I’ve got to check out that Book Expo America event! I can’t wait to read!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
