RSS

Audio Review: The Search by Nora Roberts

25 Jul

The SearchMy rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was a nice, enjoyable read.

My summary

Fiona Bristow is a dog handler with a past– the only survivor of the Red Scarf Killer, now in prison for life, thanks to her.

She’s made a new life for herself– one that becomes a little more interesting when Simon Doyle and his puppy come to her for help.

All signs show that the Red Scarf Killer is back– and has her as a target, once again!

My Review

For me, the best part of The Search was the dogs, particularly the search and rescue aspects. I’ve read other books that have featured these special canines, but here I really got a feel for how they operate, and why people and dogs would volunteer to do this kind of work. I liked seeing the training techniques at work with dogs ranging from skilled search and rescue dogs playing games on their playground to the highly spoiled little yappy dog that had taken over her owners’ lives.

The creepy serial killer story worked for me as well. If I’ve read a few books featuring search & rescue dogs, I’ve read many with serial killers stalking a victim. The Search has a clever twist, and overall executes this part of the story competently.

I loved the characters, and I’m guessing we will see sequels about Fiona’s two (single) best friends. I pretty much always enjoy Nora Roberts’ female leads. Fiona was strong and self-sufficient, but not so much so that she wouldn’t let friends and a new lover into her life when she needed them.

The only part that didn’t thrill me was the romance. In particular, I didn’t feel any pull from the character of Simon. He was interesting enough, but felt a little too much like a stock character, and one that doesn’t particularly appeal to me.

However, that’s OK because the romance wasn’t the primary focus of the story. I often think of Nora Roberts books as more of chick lit than romance for this reason. Overall, I found the book to be a good read.

Audio Notes

Narrator: I had no complaints about Tanya Eby.  She was pleasant to listen to and read the book well.

Production:  A competent production.  No highlights, no problems.

Audio vs. Paper: This book was a spur of the moment purchase simply because it was on sale at Audible.  While I don’t think the audio particularly added to the experience, it certainly didn’t detract from it.  I enjoyed carrying this story with me.  Since I have so much less of a backlog for audiobooks, I think I’ll be enjoying Nora Roberts this way again.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 25, 2010 in books, reviews

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Audio Review: The Search by Nora Roberts

  1. Trisha

    July 26, 2010 at 9:53 am

    I’ve read the majority of Roberts’ books and I have to say I’m really curious now to see how they work in audio. I’m not an audio fan, but something like Roberts may work.

     

Leave a Reply

 
