RSS

Review (Tween View): Gimme a Call by Sarah Mlynowski

07 Jul

Gimme a CallThis summer, I’m going to be reviewing some YA books with help from my 12 year old daughter.  You’ll get my view on the books, and you’ll also get hers.

What kind of advice would older teenage you give younger teenage you? How could it change your life?

The premise of Gimme a Call was quite clever, and the working back and forth of cause and effect was well done, if sometimes oversimplified.

I really liked the young Devi, who felt like a nice but realistic young lady. She doesn’t quite know what her goals and priorities are, which isn’t unusual for someone just starting high school.

The older Devi is another story altogether. She’s finishing up high school, and she didn’t make the best of choices throughout her time there. She’s blown off her studies, alienated her friends, lost touch with her sister, with all of her energy going toward her boyfriend. And he’s now broken up with her.

These choices aren’t what bother me about her. It’s her relationship with her younger self. She never tries to work together with her younger self. She’s bossy, demanding, and very much looking at it in terms of the ends justifying the means. She’s just overall very unpleasant. I wish she’d been a little more balanced, while still having room to grow.

My 12 year old daughter liked the book quite a bit, although she didn’t love it. Here’s her take on it:

I thought this book was well written and had an interesting idea (what would YOU do if you could talk to your past self).I also thought that it was nice that she (Devi) was not as perfect as some main characters in books are. Over all I felt that this was a well written and enjoyable book. This book caught my attention and kept it by using an interesting set of words and having lots of twists and turns in the plot.

Overall, it was a short fun read for both of us. For me, it was one of those YA books where I felt while reading it that I wasn’t the target audience, and I suspect the appeal will be higher for those of the intended age.  My daughter’s experience seems to confirm this.

I stood in line at BEA for an autographed copy of Gimme a Call.  I’m pretty sure one of the other book bloggers there recommended Sarah Mlynowski to me.  Details are a bit fuzzy, however.  Thank you to Random House for providing the book, and to Sarah Mlynowski for answering my question as to whether the book would be appropriate for a 12 year old (It is) and signing it for my daughter .

 
7 Comments

Posted by on July 7, 2010 in books, reviews

 

Tags: , , , ,

7 responses to “Review (Tween View): Gimme a Call by Sarah Mlynowski

  1. Julie P.

    July 11, 2010 at 7:01 am

    Thanks for sharing. I love seeing both of your reactions to this book. My daughter and I try to do this too, but it’s getting more difficult finding the time for her to write her point-of-view.

    I have this book in my pile and I am anxious to read it!

     
  2. Sherrie

    July 11, 2010 at 8:49 am

    Hi!
    Sounds like an interesting book. Great idea having your daughter put in her review also. Have a great day!

    Sherrie
    Just Books

     
  3. bermudaonion

    July 11, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    It’s nice to read two different opinions in one review! The premise of this book sounds interesting – at my age, I have a lot of advice for my younger self.

     
  4. HELP

    August 6, 2010 at 5:16 pm

    whats the theme of this book? any suggestions?

     

Leave a Reply

 
