RSS

Book Blogger Appreciation Week

06 Jul

Last year’s Book Blogger Appreciation Week was one of the highlights of my first year of blogging.  I’d only been part of the community for about 6 months when it rolled around last September, and I really enjoyed getting to know so many other blogs and bloggers.  I was lucky enough to be nominated for several awards, although I didn’t make the short list for any of them.

This year the process is different. I’ve decided to toss my hat in the ring for Best Eclectic Blog.  This doesn’t mean I’m nominating myself– the long list will be determined by all the registered  bloggers in my (very large) niche, then a panel will choose the short list from there.  I’m simply saying that Eclectic blog is my niche, and that I’m willing to be considered for an award.

Part of that process is generating a list of 5 representative posts.  Here are my choices:

  1. Review: The Help by Kathryn Stockett
  2. Review: Waking Up in the Land of Glitter by Kathy Cano-Murillo
  3. Review: Unseen Academicals by Terry Pratchett
  4. Review: Betsy-Tacy 9 and 10 by Maude Hart Lovelace
    • Betsy and the Great World
    • Betsy’s Wedding
  5. Book Club Bytes

This list doesn’t include any of the mystery or romance or modern YA and other genres that I read and blog about, but there’s a limit to what I can do here.  Check my sidebar for a view of what appears here!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on July 6, 2010 in blogging, books

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Book Blogger Appreciation Week

  1. mari (bookworm with a view)

    July 6, 2010 at 11:37 am

    Very well said – I wish I read you post before throwing my blog into the ring. I figure you can’t be considered if you don’t take the first step. I don’t care if I win but it was nice to take the time to find the posts that most represent me and my blog to submit.

    I even had an author (from one of the books I included) leave a comment within a day! This is gift enough for me – I’m still smiling.

    Good Luck and let’s have fun with BBAW!

     
  2. Sue Jackson

    July 6, 2010 at 4:56 pm

    Good for you, Laura! I just returned from a 3-week vacation and saw that the deadline is tomorrow, so I doubt I’ll be able to pull something together by then – I have over 700 e-mails to go through!

    Good luck!

    Sue

     

Leave a Reply

 
