RSS

Mailbox Monday

05 Jul

My Mailbox looks a little like this one.I’m participating in Mailbox Monday from Marcia at The Printed Page.  Head over to her blog to see what appeared last week in the mailboxes of bookish people all over the net.

Three books appeared in my mailbox this week, plus one that convinced me to take it to the register at Borders. I mean, it was on sale. Then there was the book my daughter bought that I want to read when she’s done. And then there’s the one that jumped into my cart at Costco. Then there’s the one I downloaded from Smashwords.

Sigh. I’m in trouble.

From my mailbox

31 Hours31 Hours by Masha Hamilton

First we have one of the three books from my mailbox.  This is a different sort of trouble– I’ve already read (and enjoyed) and reviewed 31 Hours .  It made my top 10 list of books I read last year. I’d like to do something on my blog to mark it’s paperback debut. I don’t plan to review it again, however. If you are interested in reviewing it, please e-mail me, and I’ll send this copy on someone. If you don’t have a blog, you could do a guest post here, or we can figure something out.  Thank you to Unbridled Books for sending it to me.

The Language of TreesThe Language of Trees by Ilie Ruby

I’m reading The Language of Trees for a blog tour at the end of the month, through TLC Book ToursThank you to TLC Book Tours and to Harper Collins for sending it to me.

I’m actually nervous about reading it, because it has the potential to be SO good, and many ways that it could go wrong.   The little bit I’ve heard so far indicates it lives up to its promise, so I’m hopeful!

Wicked Intentions (Maiden Lane)Wicked Intentions (Maiden Lane #1) by Elizabeth Hoyt

Wicked Intentions is also for a blog tour at the very end of July, through Hachette’s Forever romance imprint.  Thank you to Forever for sending it to me.  I absolutely fell for Hoyt’s To Desire a Devil last year, and I’m looking forward to the start of a new series with her.

I need to plan an afternoon to escape from everything else and read it.  Hmmm, drop my daughter at the in-laws, have them take her to gymnastics, get a good chair, sit out under an umbrella by the pool… sounds like a perfect day!

From Borders

It was just supposed to be a quick stroll through Borders with Bookalicious Pam and my daughter.  We weren’t going to actually buy anything!  No, I didn’t actually believe that, and I did well at holding us to one book each…

The SeasonThe Season by Sarah MacLean

My daughter takes after me in her love of books (nature or nurture?), and found several books she wanted. She narrowed it down to three, and I nudged her toward this one (the other two were middle grade fiction that would have taken her about 15 minutes to read, this one might take her an hour. The fact that I was interested in reading it didn’t have anything to do with it, really). Since I didn’t know anything about it, I’m hoping I didn’t point her toward anything she isn’t ready for yet– I guess I’ll find out.

The Truth about ForeverThe Truth about Forever by Sarah Dessen

I’ve wanted to try reading Sarah Dessen for a while now, so when I saw this for $2.99, I couldn’t pass it up!

I’m thinking of putting this in the car for an emergency backup book that either my daughter or I can read  if the need arises.  I didn’t have that in mind with If I Stay by Gayle Forman, but I think it worked out well (she’s finished it, I haven’t yet).  I’m going to keep that in mind in the future.

From Costco

Black HillsBlack Hills by Nora Roberts

The previous week, I held it off , but this time I couldn’t stop it. It flew off the table and jumped into the cart.  Really, I have witnesses!  (And they all saw me pick it up, glance at the cover, and drop it in.  I’m sure they’re right)

I have a weakness for Nora Roberts, and I always pick up her new books (in paperback) when I’m at Costco.  I didn’t even read the cover, although I did notice the cat on the cover.  Nice kitty?

From Smashwords

ShapeShifter : The Demo Tapes -- Year 1

ShapeShifter: The Demo Tapes — Year 1 by Susan Helene Gottfried

I’ve been interested in this book for quite some time, but I just hadn’t gotten around to getting a physical copy, or (since I received my Nook) an electronic one.  Then I saw that it was on a really, really good sale through the month of July, and went ahead and got it.  If you’re interested, check out Shapeshifter: The Demo Tapes: Year 1 on Smashwords.  Year 2 is there as well, and the third book is coming out soon!

Now I just need to stop writing blog posts long enough to do some reading!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on July 5, 2010 in books, meme

 

Tags: ,

10 responses to “Mailbox Monday

  1. bermudaonion

    July 5, 2010 at 5:14 am

    I’m impressed that you got out of Borders with only 2 books to tell you the truth! I can’t wait to see what you think of The Language of Trees – I saw Ilie Ruby on a panel in NY and she was fascinating!

     
  2. RAnn

    July 5, 2010 at 6:26 am

    I enjoyed Wicked Intentions

     
  3. Kim V

    July 5, 2010 at 6:43 am

    Looks of great looking books!

    If you haven’t already passed it along I would be interested in reading 31 Hours (any book that is one a blogger’s 10 ten list catches my eye!).

     
  4. Colleen (Books in the City)

    July 5, 2010 at 7:20 am

    I am laughing at “a quick stroll through Borders” – I am incapable of that!

    I look forward to your review of Language of Trees – hope it lives up to your expectations!

     
  5. Melissa

    July 5, 2010 at 7:27 am

    If it hasn’t been claimed yet, I’d love the chance to read and review 31 Hours. I loved The Camel Bookmobile.

     
  6. Beth(bookaholicmom)

    July 5, 2010 at 12:10 pm

    Is there such a thing as a quick stroll through a bookstore? Wouldn’t it be a wasted trip if we came out with nothing? We wouldn’t want to be wasting time now would we? I hope The Language of Trees is good. The cover is eye catching.

     
  7. Lisa

    July 5, 2010 at 1:52 pm

    Is there any such a thing as a quick stroll through Borders? LOL!

     
  8. Beverly @ The Wormhole

    July 5, 2010 at 3:12 pm

    Hey there – just swinging by for Monday to see what you are reading. I too have a weakness for Nora Roberts – I have had that very same flying book experience at the store – my children never remember the same way either. Have a great week. Stop by The Wormhole to check out what I have gotten and what I have been reading too. Happy reading! Bev.

     
  9. Anna (Diary of an Eccentric)

    July 7, 2010 at 5:31 pm

    I hope you enjoy Susan’s book as much as I did! I love how a book just jumped into your cart. 😉

    Check out my mailbox.

     
  10. Scorpio M.

    July 9, 2010 at 6:55 pm

    OMG! How did you get the new Elizabeth Hoyt so soon!?! I’m so jealous, she is my favorite historical author.

     

Leave a Reply

 
