RSS

Book Club nominations

03 Jul

It’s now time for my Book Club M to pick new books, probably about 6 months worth.  Everyone had a chance to nominate books, now we all vote.  To see our method, look at my Book Club page.

What do you think of these choices?  I’m excited about so many of them, it’s hard to vote!

A Reliable Wife by Robert Goolrick
Broke, USA by Gary Rivlin
Broken Glass Park by Alina Bronsky
Claude & Camille: A Novel of Monet by Stephanie Cowell
Critique of Criminal Reason by Michael Gregorio
Cutting for Stone by Abraham Verghese
No Rooms of Their Own ed. by Ida Rae Egli
Solar by Ian McEwan
The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot
The Postmistress by Sarah Blake
The Solitude of Prime Numbers by Paolo Giordano
Up from the Blue by Susan Henderson
 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 3, 2010 in Book Club, books, M

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “Book Club nominations

  1. Pam

    July 3, 2010 at 7:46 am

    A Reliable Wife!!

     
  2. Melissa

    July 3, 2010 at 4:28 pm

    I have Claude and Camille checked out from the library right now, and can’t wait to get to it. (Such a beautiful cover!) I’m thinking it might come with me on vacation. I’d vote for that as well as The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks, which I’m also very interested to read.

     
  3. Lisa A.

    July 4, 2010 at 10:23 am

    Not to be a downer or anything, but “A Reliable Wife” was the absolute worst book I suffered through in a long time! I kept on to the bitter end because I was sure I must be missing something . . . but no, it was rotten to the end. You have my sympathy . . . 🙂

     
    • Laura

      July 4, 2010 at 11:29 am

      A Reliable Wife seems to get a love it or hate it reaction from people, which could make for interesting book club discussion! We’ll see if it actually gets selected by the group.

       
  4. Lisa

    July 5, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    You do have a lot of great choices to choose from!

     

Leave a Reply

 
