RSS

Review: The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson

24 Jun

The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet's Nest (Millennium, #3) My rating: 4 of 5 stars

A word of warning– the Millennium Series isn’t one you want to read out of order, and you may not want to read this review if you haven’t read the earlier books. The very existence of this book is a minor spoiler for the second in the series.

I’m going to miss these characters, now that I’ve finished this book, the last in the series.

For some reason, this book got off to a slow start for me, which didn’t happen with the previous books. I didn’t dislike it, but it didn’t compel me to keep going as much as I expected.

I think not having an unknown bad guy and Salander being out of  action due to her injuries from the end of the previous book weighed the story down– it felt more like logistics (interesting ones) than a mystery.

As the book progressed, the plots deepened, Salander got back in the game in spite of being arrested, isolated, and having a hole in her head,  I got pulled back into the lives of all the characters, and the story became as compelling as ever.

Hornet’s Nest has a somewhat different flavor from the previous two books. There’s international intrigue which was introduced in the second book, but grows deeper and more political here, and there’s the added dimension of a courtroom drama.

On the other hand, there’s still the hunt for the big news story, lots of excitement, drama, violence, and the computer hacking that played a part in the previous books.

Mikael Blomkvist still gets on my nerves at times, particularly when all the women in the book are falling in love with him, but it isn’t a big problem, and the other characters (and most of the other aspects of Blomkvist) are interesting and well put together.

If you’ve read the other books, you’ll want to continue with this one.

Audio notes

I’ve listened to the audio version of all 3  books in this series.

Narrator: Simon Vance does an excellent job with the narration, as with the previous books.

Audio vs. Paper:  I don’t think anything is lost in the translation to audio, but I’m not sure anything is added either.  Go with whatever version works best in your schedule.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on June 24, 2010 in books, reviews

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “Review: The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson

  1. Pam

    June 24, 2010 at 7:01 am

    I have the first two I really want to get to them.

     
  2. Carrie K.

    June 24, 2010 at 7:30 am

    I skipped your review because I intend to start listening to these on audio soon – but your 4.5 stars rating caught my eye! Will definitely have to get to them sooner rather than later.

     
  3. Marce

    June 24, 2010 at 11:41 am

    I tried to start the first but it was to slow for me, major decription to set the scene. I hear once I am past that I will love it so I definitely will try again.

     
  4. Jen - Devourer of Books

    June 25, 2010 at 9:59 am

    I also sort of skimmed because I’m still contemplating reading or listening to these, but I’m glad you were involved enough in the story that you’ll miss the characters.

     
  5. The Audiobook Guy

    August 3, 2010 at 10:39 am

    I’ve read all three books and want to check out The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest audiobook version.

    It was good to read your review of the readings. Does the narrator read it all the same or modify the voice for different characters?

    I’m listening to Under the Dome right now and the story teller is doing a fantastic job of bringing the characters to life.

     

Leave a Reply

 
