RSS

Audiobook meme

22 Jun

I’m participating in Audiobook Week at Devourer of Books, in honor of Audiobook Month.  Today’s post is an audiobook meme.

Audiobook are you currently reading/you read most recently: I just finished Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri, narrated by Sarita Choudhury and Ajay Naidu.  I’m planning to start reading Sizzling Sixteen by Janet Evanovich, narrated by Lorilei King.

Impressions?: Unaccustomed Earth was wonderful.    I have high hopes for Sizzling Sixteen, although in a completely different way.

How long you’ve been listening to audiobooks: I downloaded my first audiobook from audible on 8/5/2005 and haven’t really looked back since.  My listening has definitely increased since then!

First audiobook you ever listened to: The Beekeeper’s Apprentice by Laurie R. King (narrated by Jenny Sterlin).  I’ve been hooked on the series and on audiobooks ever since.

Favorite audiobook title: I’m either going to have to go with the above mentioned The Beekeeper’s Apprentice (which I’ve now listened to many, many times) or copy Jen’s answer of The Help (my top overall book of last year).

Favorite narrator: Sorry, I’m going to have to pass on this.  As long as a narrator has a pleasant voice and is a competent reader, they probably will be fine with me.

How do you choose what to listen to versus read? I have a huge backlog of paper books to read.  I have a very, very small backlog of audio books.  When I want or need to read a specific book (a recommendation or for book club) I check if it is available in audio, If so, I’ll probably listen to it.  When I’m done with a book, I see if there is something in my stash I feel like reading, and if not, I’m off to search my libraries downloadable titles.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on June 22, 2010 in books, meme

 

Tags: ,

10 responses to “Audiobook meme

  1. Beth F

    June 23, 2010 at 7:39 am

    Yep, me too — I have an easier time keeping up with audios.

     
  2. Jen - Devourer of Books

    June 23, 2010 at 8:13 am

    I’m with you and Candace, I definitely have an easier time keeping up with audios and find it much easier to get a book I want to read in quickly if I can find it in audio.

     
  3. Melissa

    June 23, 2010 at 8:14 am

    I loved Unaccustomed Earth in audio, too!

     
  4. Nise'

    June 23, 2010 at 9:04 am

    My audiobook TLT (to listen to) list is now growing. I never had one before!

     
  5. Zee

    June 23, 2010 at 9:20 am

    I listened to The Namesake by Jhumpa Lahiri, narrated by Sarita Choudhury and the narration was excellent. I’ll have to keep Unaccustomed Earth in mind as well.

     
  6. Carrie K.

    June 23, 2010 at 11:28 am

    How did I miss that Sizzling Sixteen was released! I just put my name on the hold list for the audio.

    And I’ve been hooked on Mary Russell ever since I listened to Beekeeper’s Apprentice on audio two years ago.

     
  7. JoAnn

    June 23, 2010 at 2:10 pm

    I loved the Unaccustomed Earth audio, and The Help is my all-time favorite, too.

     
  8. pusserboots

    June 23, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    I’m not listening to any. I find them hard to follow.

     
  9. Lisa

    June 23, 2010 at 6:36 pm

    I listen to a lot of books while I’m working–it makes a dull day go so much faster. But since I am working, I have to stick to things that aren’t too heavy and usually I try to go with books that aren’t too long. Cozy mysteries–yes; Charles Dickens–no!

     
  10. Just Mom

    June 23, 2010 at 7:18 pm

    Jhumpa Lahiri is a favorite. I have a stack of audios waiting now but, yes, the stack is much smaller than the print books! Here’s my meme.

     

Leave a Reply

 
