RSS

Why audiobooks?

21 Jun

I’m participating in Audiobook Week at Devourer of Books, in honor of Audiobook Month.

In general, I listen to a little more than one audiobook a week (6 last month, 62 last year).

The primary reason I listen to audiobooks is because I can read at times when reading a book the traditional way isn’t possible. Driving the car, shopping for groceries, washing dishes, watching gymnastics practice are all fair game for reading now.

Really, I like to multitask. I get itchy doing only one thing at a time. So now, I listen to books while playing games on my computer, skimming e-mail (I do have to pause the book when I want to really pay attention to something involving words), I even have one going (albeit one I’ve listened to before) while I’m typing this post, although I can’t write a review while listening to a book.

There’s one other reason I like being plugged into my MP3 player most of the time– I suffer from tinnitus (ringing of the ears). My ears are a noisy place, with a constant high pitched ringing. If I’m listening to something else, it is much less annoying. Music works for this as well, but overall, I’m more of a book person than a music person!

In general, listening vs. reading doesn’t affect my enjoyment of a book– I hope to talk about the cases when it does (for better or worse) later this week.

What about you? Do you listen to audiobooks? Why? (If you have a post up on the subject, feel free to leave a link).

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 21, 2010 in books, Me

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Why audiobooks?

  1. Jen - Devourer of Books

    June 21, 2010 at 1:40 pm

    Ooh, so smart! When Daniel is old enough to play sports I will TOTALLY bring an audiobook, if I can’t get away with actually reading.

     
  2. Sue Jackson

    June 21, 2010 at 2:31 pm

    I had no idea it was audio book week! It’s good timing, though – we’re on a road trip and listening to audios in one of our favorites parts of vacation! Not much time for blogging about it, though…

    Sue

     
  3. Shelley (Book Clutter)

    June 21, 2010 at 4:45 pm

    I can tell there are more talented listeners out there! There’s no way I could listen while playing games or checking email! Maybe I need to try harder!
    I do love audiobooks though–mostly for the multitasking feature.

     
  4. Bookjourney

    June 21, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    I like to multi task too so audio is a big plus for me as well.

     
  5. Lisa A.

    June 22, 2010 at 11:16 am

    I love to listen to audiobooks on my long commute to work. It’s gotten so that there are certain series that I MUST wait for the audio book (The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency, John Sandford’s Lucas Davenport books, etc.). The readers do such a wonderful job of making the characters come alive that I really look forward to visiting with them again!

     

Leave a Reply

 
