RSS

Mailbox Monday

20 Jun

My Mailbox looks a little like this one.It’s been a long time since I did a mailbox post, but I’d like to return to this weekly highlighting of the arrival of new books. I missed having this overview and checking in with what other people were reading.  While at Book Blogger Con and the associated events, I heard that  publishers/publicists like having the books they send us appear in this form.   So, once again:

I’m participating in Mailbox Monday from Marcia at The Printed Page.

I was on vacation all of last week.  I didn’t do any book shopping while I was gone, but came home to two books in my mailbox.

The first is
The Cookbook Collector: A Novel The Cookbook Collector by Allegra Goodman.

From the Random House Web Site:

Emily and Jessamine Bach are opposites in every way: Twenty-eight-year-old Emily is the CEO of Veritech, twenty-three-year-old Jess is an environmental activist and graduate student in philosophy. Pragmatic Emily is making a fortune in Silicon Valley, romantic Jess works in an antiquarian bookstore. Emily is rational and driven, while Jess is dreamy and whimsical. Emily’s boyfriend, Jonathan, is fantastically successful. Jess’s boyfriends, not so much—as her employer George points out in what he hopes is a completely disinterested way.

When I found out about this book, I was excited– I’ve enjoyed some of her previous books, and Katerskill Falls made for interesting book club discussion. I didn’t want to wait for the book to appear for sale, particularly since we’re picking book club books NOW, so I sent in a review request to the publisher (another thing I learned at BBC: It’s OK to do that!), and here it is!

The other book in my mailbox was
The Seven Year Bitch The Seven Year Bitch by Jennifer Belle.

From the Penguin Web Site:

Isolde Brilliant used to have a life she recognized. She was working in finance, she had a devoted, if neurotic, husband, and a perfectly acceptable apartment in downtown Manhattan. But once Izzy’s wish to become a mother finally comes true, she is laid off from her job, and her old world falls by the wayside. Although she’s surprised with motherhood’s hidden pleasures-jaunts to the park, bickering with other mothers, and the sense of accomplishment she feels in having made it through her son’s first year-her marriage is on shaky ground and she feels lost. She just can’t quite get a grip on what to do now that she has all-or most-of the things she’s ever wanted.

As Izzy ponders her next move, her best friend announces that she is leaving her husband. Balancing the demands of marriage and motherhood for seven years has made her feel like a nag, a shrew, a…you-know-what, and she’s determined that the only way out is too leave. Izzy tries to avoid a similar fate, but as new challenges and temptations arise for her, she begins to wonder if there might be some inescapable grain of truth in her friend’s outlandish theory.

I received this book through the LibraryThing Early Reviewer Program. In general, I only request or accept books for review when I’m pretty sure I’m going to enjoy them. I take a few more chances through the GoodReads and LibraryThing programs. The title of this one pushes it a little outside my comfort zone, but the description sounds very interesting, so I’m looking forward to giving it a chance.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on June 20, 2010 in books, meme

 

Tags: , , , , ,

5 responses to “Mailbox Monday

  1. Cathy

    June 20, 2010 at 11:57 pm

    I have to admit that I love the title of the second book. LOL Happy reading!

     
  2. bermudaonion

    June 21, 2010 at 5:15 am

    I’m lusting after The Cookbook Collector!! Enjoy!

     
  3. Lisa

    June 21, 2010 at 6:37 am

    Looks like you get some good ones this week

    Here’s mine

     
  4. diaryofaneccentric

    June 21, 2010 at 9:08 am

    The Cookbook Collector caught my eye. I’m looking forward to your review!

     
  5. Beth(bookaholicmom)

    June 21, 2010 at 11:30 am

    The Cookbook Collector sounds very good and the second book has an interesting title! Enjoy!

     

Leave a Reply

 
