RSS

Audio Reviews: All Together Dead & From Dead to Worse by Charlaine Harris

02 Jun

It seems that June is National Audiobook Month!  I’m not sure how this escaped my notice, except that I’ve been pretty distracted lately.

I’ll figure out some way to celebrate on my blog later this month, but I thought I’d start out with an audiobook review.  I looked through my recent listens, and realized I had not one but two Sookie Stackhouse books I hadn’t reviewed yet!  Here are short reviews of books 7 and 8 of the series.

All Together Dead (Sookie Stackhouse, #7)

All Together Dead by Charlaine Harris

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Brief summary:

Sookie goes to the big vampire political event of the year.  Secret plots abound!

All in all, probably one of the better books in the series so far. It takes itself a little more seriously, which could be a negative as well.  This is a larger  scale adventure, and gets more into the organization and politics of vampire society as well as their relationships with the other supernatural groups.

I do think that bringing in super-bodyguards from another dimension was a bit much, and there was another “Really!?!” moment when reading that has slipped my mind.

I enjoyed seeing Sookie behave as a competent adult, and I liked having a little less focus on her love life.  It still played out in the book, but I didn’t feel like it was the most important thing.

The end of this book has consequences taking it into
From Dead to Worse (Sookie Stackhouse, #8)

From Dead to Worse by Charlaine Harris

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

I didn’t like this one as much as the past two. It just never seemed to come together as well– there wasn’t anything in particular wrong with it.

Part of the problem comes when I try to summarize.  Hmm.

Sookie meets her great-grandfather. Someone tries to kill Sookie.  Sookie and her guys (minus Quinn)  try to address the problem.

I think the book felt like a transition.  There were a lot of little things that needed to happen, none of them quite supporting an entire book by itself.  Together, they filled one up.

I still enjoyed listening.  It was better than  Dead as a Doornail, when I was wondering if I’d finish the series.

I am looking forward to the next book, particularly the implications of the revelation at the very, very end of the book.  I almost missed it due to a playback issue.  I thought I was pretty much at the end, and almost didn’t go back to try again.  Don’t do that with this one!

Final notes

As always, I enjoyed Johanna Parker’s narration.   Her voice adds so much to my mental picture of Sookie.  Other than that, I don’t think that these books are better or worse on audio than reading them the traditional way.  Listening fits into my schedule, and I’ll continue that way.

I thought I’d missed the end of the Sookie Stackhouse Reading Challenge, but I still have another month to go!  I should be able to listen to the 9th book this month and complete the challenge!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 2, 2010 in books, reviews

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Audio Reviews: All Together Dead & From Dead to Worse by Charlaine Harris

  1. bookmagic

    June 2, 2010 at 6:47 pm

    Book 8 was enough for me. I didn’t love book 7 and From Dead to Worse was worse. I’m done with the series tho I heard she is with Eric in 9 and I had hoped for that. But I don’t think I can read anymore Sookie!

     
  2. Tina

    June 4, 2010 at 6:08 am

    How did I too miss National Audio Month….I have several lined up for ‘ear-reading’ so I must get busy….like anybody ever had to induce me to listen to an audiobook…I’m never without one. Thanks for the reminder.

     
  3. Marce

    June 4, 2010 at 6:18 am

    I have her 1st book and still haven’t read it, not sure if I will enjoy the series.

    I have an award for you.

    http://teawithmarce.blogspot.com/2010/06/awards-awards-awards-thank-you.html

     

Leave a Reply

 
