RSS

May reading wrap-up

01 Jun

May was a strange reading month.

I was reading a lot (and enjoying it!) in the first half of the month, then my reading came to a screeching halt about halfway through (although I did keep up somewhat with my audiobooks).  There were two reasons for this:  I stalled on my book club book– I didn’t want to be reading it,and I didn’t want to pick up something else until I finished; and then BEA sucked up all of my time, preparing and then attending.

So, for May I have

Books on paper

Books on my Nook

  • Rampant (Killer Unicorns #1) by Diana Peterfreund

Books on audio

  • From Dead to Worse (Sookie Stackhouse #8) by Charlaine Harris
  • Bone by Bone by Carol O’Connell
  • Rolling Thunder (a John Ceepak Mystery) by Chris Grabenstein
  • Unwind by Neal Shusterman
  • The Well of Lost Plots (Thursday Next #3) by Jasper Fforde
  • Virgin River (Virgin River #1) by Robyn Carr

This is a total of 13 books: 6 books on paper, 6 books on audio, and 1 book on Nook.  This gives me updated year to date totals of  67 books41 paper books, 25 audio books, and 1 Nook book. (I realized I’d missed a book from January in my tracking– I read My Life In France by Julia Child, but it isn’t reflected in my summary.)  My favorites for the month were Dismantled, The Singer’s Gun, Unwind, and Rolling Thunder. They are all sufficiently different that I figured I’d list them all.

Yes, there’s something new up there!  I received a Nook for Mother’s Day, almost exactly the time my reading came to an abrupt halt.  I still don’t have a strong opinion about it.  I suspect I will like it a lot, particularly when I go on vacation next month, but I’m not going to love it.  Considering that I think there are still about 60 books traveling from BEA for me, in addition to the 10 or so here now, and the large collection that still is waiting to be read here, I’ll be able to keep going back and forth for quite a while.

Another thing you’ll notice is the lack of reviews.  I did have some reviews of earlier books, and an attempt to catch up on book club updates.  Still, my goal for next month is to do much, much better.

Looking into June:

For my book club M, I’m currently reading The House on Fortune Street by Margot Livesey.  For my book club L, I’ll be reading Unaccustomed Earth by Jhumpa Lahiri. I have several tours scheduled:  Heart of Lies by M.L. Malcolm and The Fixer Upper by Mary Kay Andrews for TLC Tours and To Surrender To a Rogue with Hachette’s Forever line.  In addition, I have a LOT of books coming from BEA, several already loaded on my Nook, and lots of other options to choose from.

Did you have a good reading month in May?  How is your June looking?

 
7 Comments

Posted by on June 1, 2010 in books, summary

 

Tags: , ,

7 responses to “May reading wrap-up

  1. Lenore

    June 1, 2010 at 8:44 am

    I don’t think I managed to read that many books during May. Certainly NONE last week!

    Was such a pleasure to meet you, and again, sorry about the doughnuts…next year for sure!!

     
  2. Pam

    June 1, 2010 at 9:44 am

    Great month for you. I didn’t read quite as much. I have sookie #9 if you ever want it!

     
  3. Lisa

    June 1, 2010 at 12:04 pm

    My book club read Unaccustomed Earth last summer. Well, at least they were supposed to. I think there were only two of us that read it all the way through that were at the meeting and the person who had nominated it wasn’t even there. Apparently my book club is not into short story collections, no matter how well written or tied together.

     
  4. Sue Jackson

    June 1, 2010 at 4:57 pm

    I didn’t realize you went to BEA – lucky you!! It sounds like it was wonderful. Hope you enjoyed it.

    Unwind is on my TBR stack. My son and I are big fans of his Everlost series, and my son says this one is just as good. I can’t wait!

    Sue

     
  5. Debbie's World of Books

    June 1, 2010 at 9:17 pm

    Good month! Unwind was an interesting book although a little disturbing. Wow, 60 books from BEA? Can’t wait to hear what you got.

     
  6. gautami tripathy

    June 1, 2010 at 10:33 pm

    I loved The Blind Assassin. Plan to read all of Atwood’s works.

    Here is my May Wrap-Up post!

     
  7. Devourer of Books

    June 7, 2010 at 11:35 am

    Wow, you’re rocking the audiobooks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
