RSS

April reading wrapup

05 May

April CalendarWow, I read a lot of books in April!  Part of this was the readathon, part of it was finally getting to a string of books that I really, really liked.

My paper books were:

  1. Blackout by Connie Willis
  2. Firefly Rain by Richard Dansky
  3. Made in the U.S.A. by Billie Letts
  4. Motherhood is Murder by Diana Orgain
  5. How to Lose a Client by Becky A. Bartness
  6. The God of the Hive by Laurie R. King
  7. The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart
  8. The Sound of Sleigh Bells by Cindy Woodsmall
  9. The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan
  10. Messenger of Truth by Jacqueline Winspear
  11. Godmother: The Secret Cinderella Story by Carolyn Turgeon
  12. In the Shadow of the Cypress by Thomas Steinbeck
  13. Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson & David Oliver Relin
  14. Making It Up by Penelope Lively

My audio books were:

  1. Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher
  2. What Happens in London by Julia Quinn
  3. Lady of Quality by Georgette Heyer
  4. Prom by Laurie Halse Anderson
  5. Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr
  6. Kindred by Octavia Butler

For a total of 20 books!  I also had two audio books I chose not to finish, at least at this time.  My total for the year so far is 53 books.  34 of those are on paper, 19 are audio.

I was excited by The God of the Hive and Thirteen Reasons Why.    Blackout would have also made that list, except it turns out it’s only the first half of the book.  I need the second part!  There were several other books that might have made the list in previous months– I had a run of books I enjoyed this month.

I did slightly better than last month getting reviews posted, with 7 for the month.  This isn’t quite my hoped for pace of 2 reviews a week, but I did manage it for the last 3 weeks of the month.  I just didn’t catch up for my slow start.  I’ll keep that as my goal for this month, but I’d better get to work!

Coming up this month, I have The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood for Book Club M and Unwind by Neal Shusterman. I’m currently reading (and enjoying!) The Singer’s Gun by Emily Mandel for a tour, and I have Dismantled by Jennifer McMahon scheduled for a tour on Memorial day.

Book Blogger ConventionI’m heading to BEA (Book Expo America) and the Book Blogger Convention at the end of the month.    I’m really looking forward to meeting bloggers, meeting publicists I’ve worked with on-line, and making all kinds of new contacts.  I expect to come back with many more books that I want to read!  Until then, I have my existing pile, and I’m also checking out some of the authors that will be at BEA and bumping some of them to the top of my list.

How was your April?  What are you looking forward to in May?

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 5, 2010 in books, summary

 

Tags: , ,

6 responses to “April reading wrapup

  1. Jennifer @ Mrs. Q: Book Addict

    May 5, 2010 at 2:23 am

    oh, wow lots of books! Hope May is another good reading month.

     
  2. Jen - Devourer of Books

    May 5, 2010 at 9:57 am

    Great month! Also, I think 6 audio books is totally hardcore.

     
  3. Pam

    May 5, 2010 at 10:05 am

    I think your April was better than mine!

     
  4. nomadreader (Carrie)

    May 5, 2010 at 11:14 am

    What a great month! Mine was not a great reading month, but now that the semester is over, I’m looking forward to reading more. I’m also looking forward to meeting you at BEA and BBC!

     
  5. nanscorner

    May 6, 2010 at 5:46 pm

    You read so many books! I can’t wait to see what you think of Unwind. I loved it!

     
  6. kavyen

    May 10, 2010 at 9:21 am

    So many books !!!!!! I probably do like 4-5 on a good month 🙂

    Hope you have fun at the BEA and BBC

    – kavyen
    http://www.readingbetweenpages.wordpress.com

     

Leave a Reply

 
