RSS

Review: Motherhood is Murder by Diana Orgain

20 Apr

Motherhood is Murder (Maternal Instincts Mystery, #2)My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I love it when a book is exactly what I’m looking for– in this case, a cute, fun mystery.  I liked Motherhood is Murder even more than the previous Maternal Instincts Mystery, Bundle of Trouble.

From Diana Orgain’s website:

Nights out are hard to come by for new parents. So when Kate’s new- mommy club, Roo & You, holds a dinner cruise, she and her husband leave baby Laurie with Kate’s mom and join the grown-ups for some fine dining on the San Francisco Bay.
But when one of the cofounders of Roo & You takes a fatal spill down a staircase, the police department crashes the party. Suddenly every mom and her man has a motive. Kate’s on deck to solve the mystery- but a killer’s determined to make her rue the day she joined the first-time-mom’s club…

The mystery (murder in a moms’ group, oh my!) was cleanly executed, but the main reason to read this is the same as pretty much any cozy– the characters.

Kate Connolly is amazingly on the ball for a new mom, although she has a fairly easy baby, particularly when dad is holding down the fort. Still, it’s fun to read the ever-changing lists, and the concerns about 2 month old baby milestones.

I found Kate to be a great balance of self-absorbed, baby-absorbed, and thinking about other people. She wants to be a PI because it fits in with her desired lifestyle (home with the baby), but it works because she’s genuinely interested in people, and that comes through in her job performance.

Kate’s mom and her friend Paula are secondary characters that I’m looking forward to seeing more of in future books. Her husband was a little boring, but that’s OK.  Every kooky detective needs a sane sidekick somewhere!

The whole book is a little goofy without being over the top, and made for an entertaining read.

Thank you to Diana Orgain and Berkeley Prime Crime for providing me with this book to review.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on April 20, 2010 in books, reviews

 

Tags: , , , ,

6 responses to “Review: Motherhood is Murder by Diana Orgain

  1. Alyce

    April 20, 2010 at 11:24 pm

    This sounds like a lot of fun – in the same way that Nancy Drew was entertaining when I was younger. I haven’t read a good light mystery in quite a while.

     
    • Laura at Im Booking It

      April 21, 2010 at 10:14 am

      Yes, that’s it! Reading it fills just the same niche as reading Nancy Drew did when I was younger.

       
  2. Pam

    May 4, 2010 at 5:58 pm

    I loved the first one you sent me. I remember I was pregnant with Elijah when I read it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
