RSS

Readathon Wrapup

11 Apr

24 Hour Read-a-thonEnd of Event Meme

1. Which hour was most daunting for you?
2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?
3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?
4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?
5. How many books did you read?
6. What were the names of the books you read?
7. Which book did you enjoy most?
8. Which did you enjoy least?
9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders?
10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?


  1. I’d decided I wasn’t sweating this one, and I’d go for however long I wanted to.  I decided to go to sleep before it got hard, which is almost the same time I gave up and went to sleep last time :-).
  2. The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart worked very well for me as a late night read.
  3. No suggestions within the realms of actual possibility! I think it is very well put together.
  4. Twitter!  I really liked being able to chat with a wide range of participants.
  5. 5 books, for a total of 1413 pages.
  6. I also had about 3 hours of audiobook listening.
  7. I read:
  8. I consider all of the books I read to be hits, and I hate to answer this.  I’m picking Godmother: The Secret Cinderella Story by Carolyn Turgeon simply because I wish I’d taken more time to think about it when I hit the end– it didn’t turn out to be as fluffy as I thought it would be, and I think I’d have appreciated it more if I didn’t read it for the readathon.
  9. Follow the list.  Update it frequently.  Don’t start at the beginning of your assigned range.
  10. I definitely want to participate again!  My role will depend on my mood as I approach.  I’m very happy with my balance of reading and cheering this time, and would strongly consider that again.

My final time breakdown

  • Awake: 4am (yikes)
  • Readathon start: 5am
  • Readathon end: 3:30 am
  • Napping time: 30 minutes
  • Time awake: 23 hours
  • Time reading: 12.5 hours
  • Audiobook time: 3 hours (some overlap with the time below)
  • Time commenting on blogs: 2 hours
  • Time cheering on Twitter: 1 hour
  • Time chatting with participants/being cheered on Twitter: 1+ hours
  • Time writing blog posts: 2 hours
  • Time participating in Readathon 20 hours, spread over 22.5 hours (although maybe I should add back in another half hour or so of break time spent stalking snacks :-))

A big thank you to all the cheerleaders and everyone that chatted with me on Twitter.  A huge thank you to everyone that spend time and effort making the Readathon happen!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on April 11, 2010 in meme, Readathon

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Readathon Wrapup

  1. Bekah

    April 11, 2010 at 11:08 am

    Thanks. Congrats on yours as well. Those wee hours were extra fun, yeah.

     
  2. Amused

    April 11, 2010 at 4:45 pm

    Wow! You did great! I’m impressed you stayed awake for the whole thing!

     
  3. Lisa

    April 11, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    I didn’t force myself to stay awake, either. Last time I tried to but then I wasn’t having any fun any more which seemed pointless.

     
  4. Bookjourney

    April 12, 2010 at 8:11 am

    Yay for the readathon 🙂 It was so much fun!

     
  5. tanabata

    April 13, 2010 at 9:22 am

    Sorry I didn’t get by during the read-a-thon but I wanted to say thank you for taking the time to stop by and cheer me on. And congratulations on a successful read-a-thon. You did great!

     

Leave a Reply

 
