RSS

Readathon

10 Apr

24 Hour ReadathonSo, after much waffling, I’m diving in to today’s readathon!  I finally decided I needed some “me time”, particularly heading into spring break next week.

I’m aiming for a very achievable goal of 4 books, particularly since I’m raiding my (11 year old) daughter’s supply for some of my choices.  She’s supposed to deliver some to me after she wakes up!

I’ll be updating 4 or so times today, plus possibly participating in mini-challenges.  Sorry to any readers who aren’t interested.  There won’t be any other content today, so feel free to skip over everything.

I’ll be cheering for a little while today– I’m probably taking an early afternoon break and a just past midnight break from reading to cheer on my fellow participants.

I’m not as prepared as last time.  I have snacks, but they aren’t conveniently bagged.  My sodas aren’t even in the fridge!  I have a shelf of books, but haven’t thought about my options, and I have other books that aren’t up here with me.   I’m not even bothering to count them. I don’t have my “nest” in the guest bedroom prepared.

None-the-less, I’m getting started.

First up?

Godmother by Carolyn Turgeon

And for the first mini-challenge, 3 facts about me:

  • I’m a mom-at-home to a wonderful daughter
  • I’m still figuring out what I want to be when I grow up
  • I have a recent post with trivia about me
 
10 Comments

Posted by on April 10, 2010 in Readathon

 

Tags:

10 responses to “Readathon

  1. Elsi

    April 10, 2010 at 6:07 am

    I adored Godmother. It was a spur-of-the-moment purchase last year, based primarily on the cover art. Wound up on the list of “best of” books. I hope you also enjoy reading it.

     
    • Laura at Im Booking It

      April 10, 2010 at 7:00 am

      Having just finished, I think I’m going to regret reading Godmother for readathon. I expected it to be pure fun. I was very surprised by the ending, and I want to spend more time thinking about the book.

       
  2. Vasilly

    April 10, 2010 at 6:35 am

    You’re going to do great! Happy reading!

     
  3. Ruby E

    April 10, 2010 at 7:00 am

    Go go go! Have a fun time this readathon. Cheering you on! 🙂

     
  4. Maree

    April 10, 2010 at 7:19 am

    Yay for diving in! Happy reading! 😀

     
  5. The1stdaughter

    April 10, 2010 at 9:44 am

    You can do it! I’m going the more laid back route as well and I think it will be just fine! Keep it up!

     
  6. Beth F

    April 10, 2010 at 9:55 am

    Read and Read and Read
    Continue till you’re tired
    Sleep when you have to

    Haiku #11 (inspired by Dawn @ She Is Too Fond of Books)

     
  7. Tasha (Trillian)

    April 10, 2010 at 11:00 am

    Hope the reading is going well! I’m just taking a break and stopping by a few blogs 😀

     
  8. Anna

    April 10, 2010 at 11:10 am

    Hope you’re having fun and ripping through that book!

     
  9. nisababepraised

    April 10, 2010 at 12:46 pm

    Happy reading!

    I sympathize with wanting/needing FUN books for the RaT. Books that require down-time afterwards are not quite conducive to RaT goals. I hope your next book is lighter!

     

Leave a Reply

 
