RSS

February summary: I blame the Olympics

03 Mar

February wasn’t a great reading month, but it was a terrible review writing month.  I blame the Olympics.  And real life.

I’ll try to do better in March!

Actually, I did read a reasonable number of books on paper, I just didn’t listen to many, and I barely wrote any reviews.

I read 9 books in February.  2 of them were audio books, 7 were paper.  This puts me at 20 books for the year, 14 on paper and 6 audio books.

Paper books read:

Audio books:

  • The Temptation of the Night Jasmine (Pink Carnation, #5) by Lauren Willig
  • The Last Summer (of You and Me) by Ann Brashares

There were several very good books this month, but Love Walked In was my favorite (I’ll review it after we discuss it at book club next week).  Knots and Crosses, Beautiful Creatures, and Little Giant were not too far behind, each in a very different way.

Right now, I’m reading Belong to Me by Marisa de los Santos, which is the follow-up to Love Walked In, and I’m listening to The Crime Writer by Gregg Hurwitz, thanks to a recommendation from Jen Forbus.  Both are very good, and I’ll pick up one or the other when I’m done writing this post :-).

Coming up in March, I’m reading Making It Up by Penelope Lively for Book Club M and The Book Thief by Markus Zusak for Book Club L.    I’ve read The Book Thief several years ago, but I’ll be rereading it for this.  I have Waking Up in the Land of Glitter: A Crafty Chica Novel by Kathy Cano-Murillo and Life Sentences by Laura Lippman for blog tours, so you can count on seeing those reviews!

I hope everyone has a great March, in books and in the rest of your life!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on March 3, 2010 in blogging, books, summary

 

Tags: , , ,

8 responses to “February summary: I blame the Olympics

  1. Belle

    March 3, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    You still had a pretty good month! I’ll be interested to hear your thoughts on The Crime Writer – I’m always on the lookout for a good audiobook.

     
  2. Jen Forbus

    March 4, 2010 at 4:23 am

    Yay! I’ll be looking forward to hearing what you think on THE CRIME WRITER, too!

     
  3. Britt, Book Habitue

    March 4, 2010 at 8:19 am

    You did better than me.

    The Olympics! I knew there was something/someone I forgot to blame in my Feb. month in review…. 😀

     
  4. Allison

    March 4, 2010 at 9:04 am

    Can I blame the Olympics too– even though I didn’t watch it???! 🙂

     
  5. Lisa

    March 4, 2010 at 11:43 am

    I’m blaming the Olympics for my February as well! My how I love them! You did a lot better than I did on the reading front.

     
  6. nanscorner

    March 4, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    I think you did a good batch of reading! You read 9 books in February and that’s how many I’ve read all year! Here’s to a good March!

     
  7. Anna

    March 5, 2010 at 8:34 am

    I think you had a great month despite all that was going on! I only read 4 books last month, and I blame the Olympics (Apolo Ohno!) and the blizzard. LOL

     
  8. Bookjourney

    March 9, 2010 at 8:58 pm

    LOL! I love that you blame the Olympics! Have a wonderful March!

     

Leave a Reply

 
