RSS

Book club updates

06 Jan

I haven’t posted recently about my book clubs and the books we’ve discussed!

A few days ago, my Book Club M discussed Life After Genius by M. Ann Jacoby I reviewed it in October, and then suggested it for this group to discuss. We all enjoyed reading the book– I’d been pretty sure that most of the members would, but I was glad that the others did as well. We had a good discussion, largely stemming from the highly unreliable narrator and from the family relationships in the book.

Book Club L skipped December (my fault!) but Book Club M read and discussed Michael Pollan’s In Defense of Food, which is the Silicon Valley Reads book for 2010. I haven’t posted a review of this book yet, and I probably won’t. Our opinion on this book was mixed, with some people loving it, and others being not as certain. I didn’t think our discussion was particularly compelling either, but I was probably the persbn that liked the book the least. We talked about the science behind his claims and about his tone while discussing them. I think that those that liked this book best had previously read The Omnivore’s Dilemma, so that may be a better place to start.

In November, my Book Club L discussed Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout, which I’d previously read, reviewed and discussed with Twitter Book Club. Olive Kitteridge made my list of top reads in 2009. Everyone thought it was a good book, but not everyone enjoyed reading it– a couple of people found Olive’s character too negative, and that interfered with their connection with her. This disagreement helped the discussion, which I think everyone enjoyed.

Also in November, Twitter Book Club discussed Tethered by Amy MacKinnon. I still hope to review it someday, although I’m not sure how likely that is at this point. I really enjoyed the book and the TBC discussion (even if I hadn’t finished the book yet). I need to recommend this for one of my other clubs, since I’d love to talk about the parts I hadn’t yet read.  I have to say, Twitter Book Club has consistently selected great books, and I’m thinking I should go back and read the two I’ve missed!

I think that catches me up on book club discussions! Hopefully, I’ll stay more up to date on my reviews this year, but  I still may post short updates when we discuss I book I’ve already read.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on January 6, 2010 in Book Club, L, M, Twitter

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Book club updates

  1. Audrey/brizmus

    January 7, 2010 at 2:38 am

    In Defense of Food – I’d never previously heard of it, but I’m thinking I probably wouldn’t like it that much, either. And yet – I feel strangely compelled to read it.
    I can’t wait to get around to reading Life After Genius!!

     
  2. Aline

    January 7, 2010 at 5:13 am

    Hy!
    You are soul look to leave in a country that have many diferents options os book to read, and the price, better than here in Brazil.
    Are taxes are so ridiculus ‘
    Weel, I looking for many books that you coment, but is hard to find here.
    Happy New YEar.
    Aline

     
  3. Kim V

    January 7, 2010 at 11:15 am

    I didn’t realize there are book clubs conducted on twitter — interesting! Thanks for sharing your clubs’ selections and general consesus.

     
  4. Don

    January 23, 2010 at 1:59 am

    Definitely read Omnivore’s Dilemma. I haven’t read In Defense of Food (yet), but Omnivore made me a big Michael Pollen fan.

     

Leave a Reply

 
