RSS

Tales for Delicious Girls by Barbora Knobova

01 Dec

Tales for Delicious GirlsMy rating: 3.5 of 5 stars

My rating may not quite be fair, since I think it is based largely on me not being the target audience for the book.  Tales for Delicious Girls was cute, funny and had entertaining stories. If it had been a straight memoir, I would have enjoyed it immensely.

Instead, she’s telling these stories as inspiration for dealing with dating and men. There are a few chapters that deal with female friendship and with loving yourself, but the primary focus is the ins and outs of new relationships.

I married my college sweetheart.  My high school and college dating life was much less interesting than what she described.  I’ve never really dated as an adult. I’ve never lived the life she describes, and neither have any of my friends.

I’m still stinging from one of the few references to a life like mine. It was in a chapter about men who are attracted to smart, intelligent, educated, independent women, but then are intimidated by those qualities; who don’t want an equal partnership. She refers to a man who dumps the wonderful woman described above, and marries a homemaker. He finds her boring, and has an affair with another smart, intelligent, educated, independent woman. What’s a smart, intelligent, educated, independent mom at home (like me) to take from this?

Most of the stories examine differences between men and women, or look at the role men play in a woman’s life.  A message about staying true to yourself comes through strongly.  Most of the stories are funny and well told.

I’ll pass my copy on to a single friend. I think she’ll really enjoy it, but I don’t think I’ll need to pick it up again.

This is a review stop for Barbora Knobova and Pump Up Your Book Promotions.   Thank you for the opportunity (and the copy of the book).  For other viewpoints, check out the other tour stops.  Other people had very different opinions of the book, and Barbora has guest posted at many sites, so you can get a taste of her writing and her viewpoint.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 1, 2009 in books, reviews, tour

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Tales for Delicious Girls by Barbora Knobova

  1. Barbora Knobova

    December 1, 2009 at 8:24 am

    Dear Laura,

    Thank you for taking the time to read and review my book!

    Please, don’t get me wrong. The story you mention is not meant to criticize stay-at-home mums at all! In fact, many of my friends are mothers and homemakers and I admire them for what they do.

    The story is about men who don’t know what they want. Jack, the guy in the story, is not happy with a career-oriented woman and when he leaves her, he is not happy with a homemaker either. I think he will never be happy with any woman 🙂

    Thank you for passing your copy to your single friend, I hope she enjoys reading Tales for Delicious Girls and finds them inspiring!

     
  2. Haleyknitz

    December 1, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    Thanks for the review ;D I love an honest opinion.

     
  3. Kim V

    December 3, 2009 at 10:45 am

    This sounds like a fun read. Sometimes you just have to laugh at the craziness of the whole dating thing.

     

Leave a Reply

 
