RSS

Review: Fallen by Lauren Kate

21 Nov

Fallen My rating: 3 of 5 stars

When I finished reading this book, I was really grumpy about the ending. Really, really grumpy. I had to step away before writing my review.

Looking back, I’m not sure why I was so bothered by it.

From Goodreads.com:

There’s something achingly familiar about Daniel Grigori.

Mysterious and aloof, he captures Luce Price’s attention from the moment she sees him on her first day at the Sword & Cross boarding school in sultry Savannah, Georgia. He’s the one bright spot in a place where cell phones are forbidden, the other students are all screw-ups, and security cameras watch every move.

Even though Daniel wants nothing to do with Luce–and goes out of his way to make that very clear–she can’t let it go. Drawn to him like a moth to a flame, she has to find out what Daniel is so desperate to keep secret . . . even if it kills her.

Dangerously exciting and darkly romantic, Fallen is a page turning thriller and the ultimate love story.

I still have some issues with Fallen, and particularly the ending. I can go with almost any premise, if the rules of that universe are followed. This is hard to do when said premise isn’t set out until the end. That also makes writing this review hard, since I don’t want to give too much away.

As I was reading the book, I kept thinking “That’s strange. There’d better be a reason for that character behaving that way.” or “I hope the author is going somewhere with this setup”.

I’ve got two problems with this. First, it stopped me while I was reading the book. I wasn’t wondering about the story, I was wondering about where the author was going with the story. Second, I still didn’t feel like the groundwork was really set for the end.

The writing was quite readable.

I liked Luce as a character. She was smart and articulate, particularly about her issues with the shadows that haunted her for her entire life. I liked the other characters taken individually, but I didn’t like the way they came together– we’re back to the “why is the author doing that” feeling again.

The romance exactly as portrayed in the publisher summary, with the addition of another potential suitor, one that showed interest in Luce. Luce’s feelings over the pull from these two boys worked for me.

I had mixed feelings on the whole setting. I loved the mysterious school, but Luce didn’t seem to belong in a reform school. The notion of this school that’s near her home, but where her parents only visit her on the once a year visitor’s day just never settled right. They were set up too much as a normal, loving family, trying to deal with her “problem”.

The school scenes were good. About half of the scenes setting up the secret ending were engaging, half left me wondering. What does that add up to for the whole book? I don’t know, I’m still trying to decide.

My copy of Fallen came from the publisher for review. Thank you for this opportunity.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on November 21, 2009 in books, reviews

 

Tags: , , ,

6 responses to “Review: Fallen by Lauren Kate

  1. Britt, Book Habitue

    November 21, 2009 at 8:05 am

    I hate it when a book makes me grumpy but I can’t put my finger on why. Drives me absolutely crazy!

    I can see how this one would cause mixed feelings, though, from your description.

     
  2. Jenn (Books At Midnight)

    November 22, 2009 at 10:43 am

    Hm, great review! I’m glad that the book lived up to it’s expectations romance-wise, but I’m sad to hear that it’s one of those where you’re constantly wondering where the story is going to lead. Hate those.
    I’ll keep your review in mind, thanks! 🙂

     
  3. Bel

    December 27, 2009 at 9:06 pm

    I absolutely loved this book and thought it was great. though there are still heaps of questions that i would have liked to be answered in this one.

     
  4. Brandon

    January 7, 2010 at 8:33 am

    awesome book! i loved it. want wait for the 2nd one!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
