RSS

Review: Dead as a Doornail by Charlaine Harris

07 Nov

Dead as a Doornail (Sookie Stackhouse, #5) My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This isn’t a full review, but does cover my main thoughts on the 5th Sookie Stackhouse book.

From Goodreads.com:

When Sookie’s brother Jason’s eyes start to change, she knows he’s about to turn into a were-panther for the first time. But her concern becomes cold fear when a sniper sets his deadly sights on the local changeling population-and Jason’s new panther brethren suspect he may be the shooter. Now, Sookie has until the next full moon to find out who’s behind the attacks, unless the killer decides to find her first.

This is very clearly my least favorite Sookie book so far. The number of men drooling over Sookie has gotten ridiculous, particularly since she returns the interest of most of them. Pick any two of them, and it would be fine. I might even be able to stomach a third. But

  • Bill (vampire #1)
  • Eric (vampire #2)
  • Sam (shape changer)
  • Alcide (werewolf)
  • Calvin (werepanther)
  • Quinn (weretiger)

(and I feel like I’m forgetting one!) is just way too many.

Sookie StackhouseI’ll read the next one because (other than her extensive taste in men) I still like Sookie. I’m interested in what happens with Jason, and I did find the whole shapeshifter storyline in Dead as a Doornail interesting, but it was overshadowed by Sookie’s romantic possibilities.

I read Dead as a Doornail for the Sookie Stackhouse Reading Challenge.  This is book 5 of 9, with an end of year challenge deadline.

Other reviews:

 
10 Comments

Posted by on November 7, 2009 in books, challenge, reviews

 

Tags: , , , , ,

10 responses to “Review: Dead as a Doornail by Charlaine Harris

  1. Literary Feline

    November 7, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    Sookie’s a fun character but I do know what you mean about the men in her life. That does get a bit annoying. I can’t remember now which book explains why Sookie is so attractive to men . . . If it hasn’t already, it’ll come. She only has four boyfriends over the course of the series so far and it’s been 9 books, I think? So that’s not too bad considering. And maybe more of a spoiler than you want to know. :-S

     
  2. Allison

    November 7, 2009 at 7:52 pm

    Oh this was by far my least favorite too!!

     
  3. Lisa

    November 7, 2009 at 8:28 pm

    Why do author’s do that? Does anybody find it interesting to read about someone who has all of the guys?

     
  4. Calila

    November 8, 2009 at 4:39 am

    I think I only read to the next book, but that was exactly the reason I had to quit. It was making me hate Sookie and I didnt want that to happen since I love the show so much. Sticking with 2 guys would’ve been better….maybe even 3 but it started getting to where any guy who looks at her is in love with her and she is in lust with them too.

     
  5. aline

    November 8, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    Hy!
    I form Brazil, live in Londrina north of Paraná, near from state of Sao Paulo.
    So, I’am Sookaholick. Read util From dead to worse.
    Dead as a doonail I didn´t liked. But, the next one, you will love, Deninetily Dead, is great, and wait All toguether Dead…. wow.
    Well, this is far as I can write in inglish, rsrsrs
    Regards,
    And pass by my place.
    http://www.alinecuriosa.blogspot.com
    http://www.newbites.blogspot.com

     
  6. docshona

    November 9, 2009 at 8:46 am

    Though I have read a few books in Sookie series , I never could like Sookie. Series is are good for light reading.

     
  7. nomadreader

    November 10, 2009 at 8:54 am

    Oh goodness. I just finished Dead to the World (the one before this), and I already need a Sookie break. I won’t say I’m breaking up with her, but I find her increasingly annoying and hypocritical. Hearing even more men are in the pipes is just too much. I’ll be curious to hear your thoughts on the next book and if things improve.

     
  8. J

    November 26, 2009 at 10:40 am

    I did like the idea of the whole triangle between her Bill and Eric. I am losing a lot of interest in the new guys. I just finished Dead as a Doornail and am reading Definitely dead. I feel like a missed a book or something though. It keeps talking about her cousin like you should know the background already. Can somebody tell me if I missed something?

     

Leave a Reply

 
