RSS

Review: The Impostor’s Daughter by Laurie Sandell

05 Nov

The Impostor's DaughterConfession:  At no point in the past 15+ years have I a read a graphic format book.  I didn’t realize this book was quite so heavy on the illustrations when I agreed to review it, and it kind of freaked me out when it arrived.

I saw a couple of good reviews in a row, and decided this would be a good time to bring it out.  I’m glad I did!  I really enjoyed The Impostor’s Daughter.

From Hachette Book Group’s website:

Laurie Sandell grew up in awe (and sometimes in terror) of her larger-than-life father, who told jaw-dropping tales of a privileged childhood in Buenos Aires, academic triumphs, heroism during Vietnam, friendships with Kissinger and the Pope. As a young woman, Laurie unconsciously mirrors her dad, trying on several outsized personalities (Tokyo stripper, lesbian seductress, Ambien addict). Later, she lucks into the perfect job–interviewing celebrities for a top women’s magazine. Growing up with her extraordinary father has given Laurie a knack for relating to the stars.

The story was compelling and entertaining, and I felt like I got to know the author.  It was just weird enough to keep me interested, just real enough to keep me connected.

The book was about Laurie, and how her relationship with her father affected her life.  Her interactions with the rest of her family, with friends, with co-workers, and with complete strangers are colored by her past experiences with him.

As she makes the decision to pursue his real story, her relationships become even more confused.  The book was quite open about her thoughts and feelings, but it only gives us her side.  I’d be interested in hearing what some of the other people in her life thought.

I don’t want to give the impression that the book is all sticky emotions.  It is also a lot of fun.  Her father’s stories are entertaining– people wanted to believe him, which is part of how he got away with his deception for so long.  Laurie’s stories about her celebrity interviews are even better.

The drawings were nice, but didn’t really stick with me.  I did find myself stopping to examine them at times. Others might appreciate them more, I think I’m just not that visually oriented.


The Impostor’s Daughter was an easy, entertaining read.  I’d recommend it as a Christmas gift for those who read regularly and those that rarely pick up a book.

Other reviews of The Impostor’s Daughter are at

  1. Bermudaonion’s Weblog
  2. At Home With Books
  3. Chick with Books
  4. J. Kaye’s Book Blog
  5. Trish’s Reading Nook

You can find more about Laurie Sandell on her website.

Thank you to Hachette Book Group for providing this copy for me to review.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 5, 2009 in books, reviews

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Review: The Impostor’s Daughter by Laurie Sandell

  1. docshona

    November 6, 2009 at 12:10 am

    I like reading Graphic novels more so after I discovered Emma A Victorian Romance.

    This book has been doing rounds all over the blogosphere. Might give it a try.Thanks for the review.

     
  2. Alyce

    November 6, 2009 at 10:45 am

    I agree with docshona that Emma is a great place to start with graphic novels if you want more traditional art. Kaoru Mori’s depictions of Victorian life are stunning.

    In enjoyed reading your review of The Impostor’s Daughter. Thanks for linking to my review!

     
  3. Ashley

    November 7, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    I have been looking for some graphic novels to read! I really liked Persepolis but that’s the only one I’ve read so far!

    I’ve added this one to my wishlist because I have heard some great things about it!

     

Leave a Reply

 
