RSS

Review and Giveaway: To Desire A Devil by Elizabeth Hoyt

04 Nov

ToDesireaDevilButtonMy rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

I’m not even sure I can pinpoint why I liked To Desire A Devil so much.  I think it comes down to how good the writing is. All aspects of the book just work for me, even when I wouldn’t have expected them to.

From the Hachette Web Site:

NOTHING IS MORE INTOXICATING-
Reynaud St. Aubyn has spent the last seven years in hellish captivity. Now half mad with fever he bursts into his ancestral home and demands his due. Can this wild-looking man truly be the last earl’s heir, thought murdered by Indians years ago?
OR DANGEROUS-
Beatrice Corning, the niece of the present earl, is a proper English miss. But she has a secret: No real man has ever excited her more than the handsome youth in the portrait in her uncle’s home. Suddenly, that very man is here, in the flesh-and luring her into his bed.
THAN SURRENDERING TO A DEVIL.
Only Beatrice can see past Reynaud’s savagery to the noble man inside. For his part, Reynaud is drawn to this lovely lady, even as he is suspicious of her loyalty to her uncle. But can Beatrice’s love tame a man who will stop at nothing to regain his title-even if it means sacrificing her innocence?

To Desire A Devil felt fresh to me, even though it’s hard to do anything really unique in a historical romance (although I’m not sure I’ve come across “hero captured by American Indians” in a book based in England before– usually, they’re captured by the French.)

Beatrice should have annoyed me.  I don’t usually have much patience with young women who refuse all previous relationships, waiting for a passion which will  sweep her away .  She fit thes description, but I wasn’t annoyed. I was interested in what happened to her, and I enjoyed reading about her life.

The portrayal of the relationship between Beatrice, her uncle and Reynaud was a strength of the book.  He had raised her from a small child, and you can see the affection between them even while they recognize each other’s weaknesses.  Her uncle had inherited his Earldom when Reynaud was declared dead 7 years ago, and Reynaud’s return means he stands to lose everything he has built his life around during that time.  He’s not going to give it up easily.

On the other hand, Reynaud has lost everything already.  He wants the last 7 years of his life back, and if that isn’t possible, he wants as many of the things that were taken from him as he can get. He isn’t inclined to deal reasonably with the person who currently has his title, his money, and his home.

Beatrice has to figure out how to maintain her relationship with both of the men she loves in very different ways.

Beatrice’s friendship with other women in the book wasn’t a primary focus, but led to some good insight and some fun moments. I liked this quote from her friend Lottie:

Well! Then you shall simply have to play nurse to a wickedly handsome man– even if he has far too much hair at the moment– who is ether a long-lost earl or a black scoundrel who might imperil your virtue. I must say I’m terribly jealous.”

Beatrice’s virtue is indeed imperiled. This book features more sex scenes that most of the historical romances I’ve read.  Take this as a warning or an enticement, whichever you’d like.  I think they were well executed.

I didn’t find that I was missing anything by not having read the previous books in the series, although I did spend time wondering which characters had been featured.  I think I guessed two of the three couples, I should go see if I’m right!

Overall, I found the To Desire a Devil kept me reading, not wanting to put it down.  That’s the most important thing in a fun read like this.

Thank you to Hachette Books for providing me with this review book and allowing me to host a giveaway of 5 copies of To Desire A Devil!

So:

  1. Leave a comment to enter.  I’ll get your e-mail address if you are on WordPress or you enter it where requested.  Make sure it is valid!
  2. If you have additional entries, you can leave them in the same comment.
  3. For another entry, let me know if you subscribe to my blog via RSS or e-mail, or if you follow me on Twitter. Thank you to my current subscribers, Welcome if you are new to my blog.
  4. One more entry if you let other people know about this giveaway! On your blog, on Twitter, another social site. Just let me know.
  5. As a bonus (for an additional entry) tell me what you like in a romance novel hero.

Having an address (not a PO Box) in the US or Canada is a requirement. I’ll pick the winners on the evening of November 30.

Check out the other stops on the blog tour:

 
46 Comments

Posted by on November 4, 2009 in books, giveaway, reviews, tour

 

Tags: , , , ,

46 responses to “Review and Giveaway: To Desire A Devil by Elizabeth Hoyt

  1. Doreen

    November 4, 2009 at 8:32 am

    This is something I am looking forward to reading. Thanks for the chance.

    I just recently subscribed.

    What I like in a romance hero……strong values, strong is proteting his love and a passionate lover.

     
  2. Cherie J

    November 4, 2009 at 9:23 am

    Please enter me. Thank you!

    +1 I am already an email subscriber.

    +1 What I like in a romance hero is that he be strong, have a code of honor and that he is protective of women and children.

     
  3. coffee

    November 4, 2009 at 10:36 am

    This looks like a great read!

    What do I love in a romance hero? Muscles, Tenderness, and Kilts!

    I’m also a follower via RSS!

    Thanks again,

     
  4. Emma

    November 4, 2009 at 11:36 am

    To Desire A Devil sounds wonderful.Please enter me in the giveaway.Thank you.

     
  5. elaing8

    November 4, 2009 at 11:56 am

    please enter me the giveaway,I’d love to win this book

    I subscribe by email

     
  6. Bridget

    November 4, 2009 at 1:44 pm

    Hi! Just posted this on Win A Book, so no need to enter me.

     
  7. Tracey D (bl0226)

    November 4, 2009 at 1:52 pm

    I enjoyed reading the post. I look forward in reading To Desire A Devil.

    I subscribe via email

    I follow on Twitter (as bl0226)

    What I like in a romance novel hero… he MUST have a sense of humor. I just love heros with a sense of humor

    Thanks
    Tracey D

     
  8. mindy

    November 4, 2009 at 2:55 pm

    this looks wonderful thanks

     
  9. etirv

    November 4, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    Elizabeth Hoyt is one of my favorite writers, please count me in!

    +1 Google reader subscriber

    +1 I like romance novel heroes who are devilish but honorable!

     
  10. scottsgal

    November 4, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    I enjoy her books and would love to read this one too

    I like a romance hero to be strong but have a soft side

     
  11. Alexandrea M

    November 4, 2009 at 6:30 pm

    I love Elizabeth Hoyt! Thank you for the giveaway, I do admit I prefer to win books or buy them used at the rate I go through them, so yay!

     
  12. Raelena

    November 5, 2009 at 9:15 am

    This sounds great!

    I follow you on twitter @throuthehaze

    Other than good looks I like for the hero to have a bit of a dark side and to also be compassionate

     
  13. Sharon C.

    November 6, 2009 at 12:15 pm

    Sounds like a good read. Please enter my name in the contest.
    Thanks for the giveaway.

     
  14. Sharon A

    November 6, 2009 at 2:54 pm

    I likehistorical fiction and the captured by American Indians is certainly a new twist.

     
  15. Marie

    November 7, 2009 at 1:05 pm

    I would love to read this one!

     
  16. Beth

    November 7, 2009 at 4:53 pm

    This looks fun! Please enter me!

    BethsBookReviewBlog AT gmail DOT com

     
  17. Beth

    November 7, 2009 at 4:53 pm

    I’m a RSS subscriber via Google Reader.

    BethsBookReviewBlog AT gmail DOT com

     
  18. MMW

    November 7, 2009 at 7:19 pm

    I really enjoy E. Hoyt’s books. I really like her book “To Beguile a Beast” from this series. It has my favorite kind of hero- the lovable beast who is imperfect in so many ways but win the beauty in the end.

    Thanks for the giveaway

    bsyb100 at gmail dot com

     
  19. Nicole C.

    November 8, 2009 at 6:14 am

    I would love to read this!!

     
  20. Bethie

    November 9, 2009 at 2:25 pm

    Please count me in.

    Bonus: I like my romance heroes to be strong, handsome, a little bit bad.

     
  21. Sue

    November 9, 2009 at 11:01 pm

    Thanks for the giveaway!

    s.mickelson at gmail dot com

     
  22. Deedles

    November 9, 2009 at 11:24 pm

    Sounds like a great read.
    Bonus- Good looking, strong and tender at the same time.

     
  23. Sue A.

    November 14, 2009 at 4:00 am

    Looks like another great book from Elizabeth Hoyt!

    I’ve subscribed by e-mail

    Bonus: I like lots of emotion so I like the wounded or tortured hero.

     
  24. Ellie W

    November 14, 2009 at 9:30 pm

    Sounds like a great book. Thanks for the giveaway.
    eswright18 at gmail dot com

     
  25. Alicia

    November 19, 2009 at 10:01 pm

    Would love to read this.

    Thanks for the giveaway >^..^<

     
  26. Jaime P

    November 20, 2009 at 5:24 pm

    Please enter me, I would love a copy
    copperllama at yahoo dot com

     
  27. Jaime P

    November 20, 2009 at 5:25 pm

    email subscriber

     
  28. Patrick M.

    November 21, 2009 at 1:57 am

    Thank you for the giveaway.
    patman1770[at]yahoo[dot]com

     
  29. tina

    November 24, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    Sounds like a fun read.
    Thanks.

     
  30. Anita Yancey

    November 25, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    Sounds like a great romance novel, one I would really like to read. Please enter me. Thanks!

    I am an email subscriber!

     
  31. Lanae

    November 25, 2009 at 6:01 pm

    This looks like a fantastic book! I can’t wait to read it.

    Thanks for the chance to get it now! I’m also a subscriber!

    Lanae

     
  32. cheryl c.

    November 25, 2009 at 7:48 pm

    I have been anxiously waiting for the finale to this series! I recommend reading the whole series in order.

    I like all kinds of heroes in romances…alpha, beta, tortured, rakish, etc.

     
  33. Jennifer Rayment

    November 26, 2009 at 7:07 am

    Sounds like a great read. Please enter me for this one and I am now posting it on Twitter and also now going to subscribe now

     
  34. Rita Wray

    November 26, 2009 at 11:37 am

    I would love to win

     
  35. meaghan

    November 26, 2009 at 12:42 pm

    i love elizabeth hoyt. this book sounds just as amazing as her other books – it would be great to win a copy!

     
  36. Donna

    November 26, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    I always enjoy a new good read. Trying to stay current & offer up fresh new authors and books to patrons in the library is a challenging job, but fun and its a good thing that I enjoy reading a variety of genres. Since I work at the library, I can not always afford to buy new reading material. I hope I win.

     
  37. Vicki Wurgler

    November 27, 2009 at 7:17 am

    sounds like a good read-please sign me up

     
  38. Chris Jardin

    November 29, 2009 at 4:28 pm

    Fun review. I’d love to read it myself now.

     
  39. Dawn M.

    November 30, 2009 at 3:06 am

    Sounds like a great story to me. :0) Would love the chance to read it.

    I subscribe by email.

    Thanks!

     
  40. Barbs

    November 30, 2009 at 2:01 pm

    I just love a Regency hero of course most are rakish too. I want a hero who makes the heroine sizzle as well as humorous and makes me want to read about him!

    Love to enter contests so this is great!

    I subscribe by email

     
  41. Marci

    November 30, 2009 at 4:56 pm

    I would enjoy having a new book to read.

     
  42. Julie

    November 30, 2009 at 7:32 pm

    + Thanks for the chance to win!
    + I’ve tweeted about it on my Twitter.
    + I like my heroes a tad possessive. 😀

     
 
