RSS

October wrap-up

01 Nov

Calendar-OctoberThanks to the Read-a-thon, I read 23 books in October!  Other things contributing to my total were several audiobooks that I’d started the previous month and some very quick reads.  This brings my total for the year to around 124 (although my records don’t match each other, so I’ll need a final recount this year).  I think that’s 47 audiobooks, 77 on paper.

I’m running really behind on reviews, but on paper I read:

  1. Breaking the Bank by Yona Zeldis McDonough
  2. The last four Betsy-Tacy books by Maud Hart Lovelace:
  3. Beat the Reaper by Josh Bazell
  4. Unseen Academicals (Discworld, #32) by Terry Pratchett
  5. The Financial Lives of the Poets by Jess Walter
  6. The Impostor’s Daughter: A True Memoir by Laurie Sandell
  7. Blue Smoke and Murder (St. Kilda Consulting, #4) by Elizabeth Lowell
  8. Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffenegger
  9. Spell Hunter (Faery Rebels, #1) by R.J. Anderson
  10. Vision in White (Bride Quartet, #1) by Nora Roberts
  11. Murder Sucks: Chiana Ryan, (sort-of) PI by June Whyte
  12. Life After Genius by M. Ann Jacoby

I listened to:

  1. The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield
  2. The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley
  3. The Merchant of Death (Pendragon, #1) by D.J. MacHale
  4. The Deception of the Emerald Ring (Pink Carnation, #3) by Lauren Willig
  5. The Seduction of the Crimson Rose (Pink Carnation, #4) by Lauren Willig
  6. Dead as a Doornail (Sookie Stackhouse, #5) by Charlaine Harris
  7. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
  8. The Help by Kathryn Stockett

I’m having a hard time picking favorites this month– there were too many good ones.  The Help, The Thirteenth Tale, Beat the Reaper, and Betsy and the Great World are probably my top choices.

I also had two books that I started but am not planning to finish. I’ve said that once before, but was convinced to give The Merchant of Death another try.

I listened to the first three stories in The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling as accompaniment to The Graveyard Book for a book club discussion.  When it seemed that no one else was going to read it, I decided I wasn’t interested enough to continue, although I may change my mind.

I listened to the first two hours of Anyone But You by Jennifer Crusie during the Read-a-thon.  I simply couldn’t get interested in it, even when I tried again the next day. I bought it from an Audible.com sale because I was pretty sure I’d heard something good about the author somewhere on the Net.  If I get a couple of people telling me it’s worth another try, I might try again, but I’m not very hopeful.

Coming up in November

My book club L is discussing Olive Kitteridge, which I’ve already read (and loved).  I may flip through it, I may re-read it, or I may just wing it, I’ll see.  I’m not sure what my Book Club M is reading, I should know tomorrow night.  Twitter Book Club is reading Tethered by Amy McKinnon.  I’ll probably read it so I can join in the discussion.

For blog tours, I have To Desire a Devil by Elizabeth Hoyt on 11/4, Now & Then by Jacqueline Sheehan on 11/12, and Tales for Delicious Girls by Barora Knobova on 12/1.

Challenges

I have three challenges in progress.

Sookie StackhouseFor the Sookie Stackhouse Challenge, I’m planning to read all 9 of Charlaine Harris’s Sookie Stackhouse books by the end of the year.  I’ve read 5 so far, so I’d better step up my reading:

  1. Dead Until Dark
  2. Living Dead in Dallas
  3. Club Dead
  4. Dead to the World
  5. Dead as a Doornail

everythingausten2The next is the Everything Austen Challenge.  For this one, I’ll be reading or watching 6 Jane Austen related items by the end of the year.  I didn’t add anything else this month. So far, I have

  1. 1972 BBC production of Emma
  2. An Assembly Such as This by Pamela Aidan
  3. Emma (movie)

This month,I’ll probably read one of the two Austen-related books I bought for the challenge, to help make progress towards clearing my shelves.  I’m still tempted to have two of the slots be the newer BBC production of Emma and the movie Clueless.

The third challenge is the Clear Off Your Shelves Challenge at S. Krishna’s Books. I’m trying to make sure that at least 20% of the books I read are books from my bookshelves (not review copies, not library books) to try to clear some of the backlog of books that I’ve bought.

For my 15 paper books read:

  • 9 (60%) were review copies.
  • 1 (6.7%)was a library book.
  • 1 (6.7%)was bought in October (but it still counts!).
  • 4 (26.7%)were from my backlog.

For my 8 audiobooks:

  • 2 (25%) were bought from Audible in October.
  • 4 (50%) were older books from Audible.
  • 2 (25%) were library books.

So, my totals (out of 23 books) are:

  • 11 (48%) qualified for the challenge.
  • 12 (52%) did not qualify.

That’s much better than I expected.  November won’t be as good, but I should easily make my goal.  Yay!

I hope everyone had a good October, and has a better November.  Happy Thanksgiving!

 
5 Comments

Posted by on November 1, 2009 in books, summary

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “October wrap-up

  1. nanscorner

    November 2, 2009 at 4:11 am

    Super job for October! I have Beat the Reaper on my TBR list.

     
  2. Just Mom

    November 2, 2009 at 6:34 am

    Very productive month!

    I may be guilty of saying something nice about Anyone But You! I read it not too long ago and liked it. But I find those “chick lit” books really hard to listen to on audio – I think when I read them, I must skim over a lot and you don’t have that choce with audio so you have to put up with all of it, and “all of it” is not always good!

     
  3. docshona

    November 2, 2009 at 7:20 am

    Wonderful job.. I have just started getting used to audiobooks and that too some classics. I also need to read Betsy Tacy as I have never read them..

     
  4. Sue

    November 2, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    I’m behind on reviews, too, but it looks like you’ve read some great books this month!

    My book group is also reading Olive Kitteridge next!

    Sue

     
  5. Lisa

    November 8, 2009 at 9:03 pm

    I”m lucky to have hit 23 books this YEAR. (Slight exaggeration.)

    How did you like Vision in White?

     

Leave a Reply

 
