RSS

End of Read-a-thon

25 Oct

deweys-readathonbuttonI had fun participating in the Read-a-thon for 23 of the 24 hours it ran (see my kick-off post for more information).

In the end, I read (on paper) for 680 minutes for a total of 1656 pages. I also listened to about 120 minutes of an audiobook.  I may try to convert that to a page count later.  I believe that I read for at least half of every hour other than when I joined my family for dinner.

Thank you to all the cheerleaders, and a huge thank you to the organizers!  Thank you to my family as well, for being reasonably understanding about the whole thing :-).

End of Event meme:

1. Which hour was most daunting for you?
2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?
3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?
4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon?
5. How many books did you read?
6. What were the names of the books you read?
7. Which book did you enjoy most?
8. Which did you enjoy least?
9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders?
10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?

  1. EvidentlyI found Hour 24 the most daunting, since that is when I stopped!
  2. I found that the popular romances I read worked well for me– Nora Roberts, Elizabeth Lowell.
  3. The only thing I can think to add would be more random drawings for prizes :-).
  4. The hourly posts were great.  The cheerleaders were wonderful.
  5. I read 5 books on paper, part of an audiobook
  6. These were:
    1. Murder Sucks: Chiana Ryan, (sort-of) PI by June Whyte
    2. Vision in White by Nora Roberts
    3. Blue Smoke & Murder by Elizabeth Lowell
    4. Her Fearful Symmetry by Audrey Niffeneger
    5. Spell Hunter (Faery Rebels, #1) by R.J. Anderson
  7. Vision in White and Blue Smoke and Murder
  8. After 4 hours, I decided Anyone But You really didn’t work for me.
  9. No Cheerleader advice here!
  10. I’d like to participate again.  I may decide to cheer for the April Read-a-Thon and read for the October one, I’m not sure.

My personal lessons learned

As it turns out, I could have stayed awake longer, but my eyes gave out.   Since they’ve always been one of the few parts of my body that works well, this was disappointing.  I thought about switching to cheering, but I simply couldn’t change gears at 4 am :-).

What I’d do differently next time

  1. Rest my eyes more as the day goes on.  I’d look into having a cool compress available, and taking regular audiobook breaks before they
  2. Put more effort into picking an audiobook before the Read-a-Thon starts. I wanted something short, but I need to have a good reason to think it will hold my interest as well.
  3. Get more short books with large print.   Even before midnight, focusing my eyes was an issue.
  4. Make solid dinner plans for my family, so I don’t have to break to deal with it.
  5. Get out the veggies for a snack durning the day.  I couldn’t believe I was craving them after midnight, and I did feel better after eating them.
  6. I’d have a tracking template and a posting template ready to go before starting.  It would have been hard this time, since I’d never participated before.

It’s been a lot of fun!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on October 25, 2009 in Readathon

 

Tags: ,

10 responses to “End of Read-a-thon

  1. Care

    October 25, 2009 at 9:32 am

    WONDERFUL! Glad you had a great readathon! A posting template is a great idea and believeitornot, my printer chose to die before I printed off a tracking sheet. oh well. STill had a blast! CHEERS, Care

     
  2. Belle

    October 25, 2009 at 10:03 am

    WOW! Wonderful results, and I love that you enjoyed it all so much. And it’s awesome that you participated for 23 of the 24 hours!!

     
  3. Louise

    October 25, 2009 at 10:24 am

    Wow, 1656 pages! That is amazing.

     
  4. Jen - Devourer of Books

    October 25, 2009 at 10:52 am

    You made it for 23 of 24 hours? VERY impressive.

     
  5. Literary Feline

    October 25, 2009 at 11:09 am

    I am glad you had a fun time, Laura. From reading all the wrap-up posts today, it sounds like the event was a huge success. Congratulations on reaching the end! You did an amazing job from the sounds of it.

     
  6. Suey

    October 25, 2009 at 11:30 am

    Wow. Great job. I can’t believe how much people got read. My stats are a drop in the bucket! 🙂

     
  7. Lisa

    October 25, 2009 at 4:22 pm

    You really got a lot read! I definitely want to get some audio books for the next read-a-thon; I had to make some kid runs and that way I could have kept “reading” while I was driving.

     
  8. booklogged

    October 25, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    I am amazed at how much reading you got done. I can’t stay focused for more than 45-60 minutes.

     
  9. Britt, Book Habitue

    October 27, 2009 at 11:20 am

    23 hours? Amazing!!

    #6- what an excellent idea!! I’ll have to keep that one in mind!

     
  10. 3m.michelle

    October 29, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    Congrats on your first readathon. Mine was sure a learning experience. Hope to see you next time!

     

Leave a Reply

 
