RSS

The Read-a-thon begins!

24 Oct

I’m about to embark on my very first 24 hour Read-a-Thon!  A group of  about 350 book bloggers and other bookish people are trying to make a dent in all those wonderful books out there by trying to read for 24 hours.  Well, read and cheer each other on.  And update progress on our blogs.

There won’t be any posts other than Read-a-Thon updates this weekend, so feel free to skip whatever you aren’t interested in.  :-).

I’m as ready as I can be, considering I’ve never done this before!

These are the books I've bought but haven't made time to read yet.

These are the books I've bought but haven't made time to read yet.

Books I've won or otherwise been given.

Books I've won or otherwise been given.

My lone library book.  Library books make me nervous.  I'll read this one early in the day.

My lone library book. Library books make me nervous. I'll read this one early in the day.

I really don't want to read books I've committed to review, but I couldn't resist having these available.

I really don't want to read books I've committed to review, but I couldn't resist having these available.

I have lots of books to choose from!  And I still plan to get more from my daughter tomorrow.  I’m bribing her with snacks to make a delivery.

I also have audiobooks loaded on my MP3 player for listening when I need to rest my eyes or do other things.

I have no idea how many I will read. More than 5, less than 10?

I don’t know how long I’ll stay awake, but I’m prepared!

My approach to snacks is the same as books-- many more than I'll need, so I have a choice.

My approach to snacks is the same as books-- many more than I'll need, so I have a choice.

I’ve created a home base in our guest bedroom, which is far away from everything else in the house.

I’ll have to venture out of my nest for beverages and the healthier snacks that live in the refrigerator. I plan to eat with my family (if they are willing to supply me with food!) and I’ll choose to find other places to read as well.

I won't get lonely while reading!

I won't get lonely while reading!

I just need to add more pillows.  Lots more pillows.

I just need to add more pillows. Lots more pillows.

 
11 Comments

Posted by on October 24, 2009 in Readathon

 

Tags: ,

11 responses to “The Read-a-thon begins!

  1. Denise

    October 24, 2009 at 7:17 am

    Great opening blog for the read-a-thon.
    Love the pictures!

    Good luck and I can’t wait to see which books you go through.

     
  2. Ruth

    October 24, 2009 at 7:20 am

    Looks like you’re all set! Good luck and have fun!!!

     
  3. Tracee

    October 24, 2009 at 7:47 am

    Good luck! With two little ones and a Halloween party today there was no hoping of me participating, although I really wanted to! Love the snacks you have and can’t wait to see some of the books you finish!

     
  4. Literary Feline

    October 24, 2009 at 8:38 am

    I love your shelf of friends who will keep you company while you read. 🙂 Good luck with the read-a-thon, Laura! Happy reading!

     
  5. Robyn Hawk

    October 24, 2009 at 7:36 pm

    I love this – great idea! …love your set up!

    I am subscribing to your blog so I can join in on the next one…back to my book…

    Robyn Hawk
    @ReadingItAll
    http://booksreadingitall.blogspot.com/

     
  6. Lisa

    October 26, 2009 at 12:29 pm

    I’m quick skimming everyones Read a thon posts, I love all the pictures in this one. I can’t quite tell which Julia Quinn that is in the first one, gonna hve to go see if you read it.

     

Leave a Reply

 
