RSS

Mailbox Monday

18 Oct

Saturday was my 6 month bloggiversary.  Check out my celebration!

I’m participating in Mailbox Monday from Marcia at The Printed Page.

My name is Laura and I’m addicted to books…

I’d done so well at cutting back on the books I had coming in, particularly those with commitments attached. That all went out the window in the past couple of weeks, and I’m expecting even more books in my mailbox soon.

Unseen Academicals

Purchased at my local independent bookstore:

Unseen Academicals (Discworld) by Terry Pratchett

I’m a huge fan of Terry Pratchett, so it’s surprising it took me a week to get his latest book.  I bought the book then went to lunch and started reading.  Terry Pratchett takes on the world of organized sports, Ankh-Morpork style.   I should be posting my review soon.

talesfordeliciousgirls

For a Pump Up Your Book tour:

Tales for Delicious Girls by Barora Knobva

This book of short stories called to me. It sounds like the best of what chick lit should be.

To Desire a Devil

For Hachette Book Group Tour:

To Desire a Devil (Legend of the Four Soldiers) by Elizabeth Hoyt

I’ve heard of Elizabeth Hoyt, but never read anything of hers.  My romance consumption has been down recently (although that will change during the Read-a-thon, I expect). This one sounded interesting.  Any fans out there– how important is it that I read these in order?

In Tongues of the Dead

For the ECW Press Shelf Monkeys program:

In Tongues of the Dead by Brad Kelln

This sounds like a smart, exciting thriller to me– something I always enjoy. I’m looking forward to reading this now, and working with ECW Press in the future.

WCS Middle SchoolFrom Cheryl at The Book Connection:

The Worst Case Scenario Survival Handbook: Middle School by David Borgenicht, Ben Winters and Robin Epstein

Thank you Cheryl! I won this book in a giveaway on her web site. This one is for my daughter rather than for me. I don’t plan to read and review it. My daughter’s immediate reaction was “But I don’t go to that kind of a Middle School!” (She’s in a small program at a K-8 school). She picked it up anyway, and was soon curled in a chair, reading my bits, and telling me which friend would like what part. I’d declare it a success!

Detectives Don't Wear Seat Belts

From Marcia at The Printed Page:

Detectives Don’t Wear Seat Belts: True Adventures of a Female P.I. by Cici McNair

Thank you Marcia! I expressed interest in this one, and boom! this copy appears.  I’m interested in hearing about what the life of a detective is really like, and how it compares to what we see in books/movies.

What was in your mailbox?

 
10 Comments

Posted by on October 18, 2009 in books, meme

 

Tags: ,

10 responses to “Mailbox Monday

  1. gautami tripathy

    October 19, 2009 at 3:12 am

    The Tongues of the Dead looks like an interesting book.

    Mondays: Musings/Mailbox Bonanza/Whereabouts

     
  2. Kristen

    October 19, 2009 at 4:18 am

    Maybe I should get my daughter a copy of the Middle School book although she seems to be navigating fairly well so far. 🙂

     
  3. Snowbell

    October 19, 2009 at 4:25 am

    Tales for delicious girls sound well… Delicious, And I’m really curious about the Cici Mc Nair one. Happy reading!

    Here’s mine

     
  4. bermudaonion

    October 19, 2009 at 5:01 am

    You got quite the variety of books. In Tongues of the Dead sounds really good.

     
  5. Jen Forbus

    October 19, 2009 at 9:12 am

    While not too many showed up in my mailbox last week (*whew), I hauled a car-load home from Bouchercon. Sometimes it seems overwhelming, but most times it’s reassuring to know I won’t be running out of reading material!

     
  6. sagustocox

    October 19, 2009 at 9:46 am

    Looks like a full mailbox. Happy reading

     
  7. Wendi B ~ Wendi's Book Corner

    October 19, 2009 at 10:52 am

    I’m in the mood for a good historical romance, so the Elizabeth Hoyt book looks great!

    Here’s my Mailbox! ~ Wendi

     
  8. Mary

    October 19, 2009 at 10:59 am

    A copy of E. Hoyt’s latest was in my mailbox too!

     
  9. Allison

    October 19, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    Sounds like some interesting books!

    Happy 6 month bloggerversary! 🙂

     
  10. booklogged

    October 20, 2009 at 3:04 pm

    Lots of fun books. I love Terry Pratchett and look forward to your review.

     

Leave a Reply

 
