RSS

Review: Beat the Reaper by Josh Bazell

16 Oct

Beat the Reaper: A Novel My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars

Woo hoo!

Beat the Reaper was funny, exciting, entertaining, funny, thought provoking, and did I mention funny?

There were two parallel storylines. In the “now”, Peter is an intern at a highly understaffed hospital, dealing with emergencies, every day craziness, and someone who wants him dead.  In the “past”, we get his rather exciting background, how he got mixed up with the mafia, and why they now want him dead.

The humor isn’t for everyone.  It tends toward the crude and disrespectful (to everyone and everything).  I still enjoyed it, and I tend to be sensitive.  It seemed appropriate to the situations, I think, rather than gratuitous.

I was icked out by the medical details at a couple of points.  Mostly I could skip over them, no big deal, but one scene near the end was important.  Still, yuck!

I have no idea how realistic the scenes regarding the life of an intern are.  I have no idea how realistic the medical aspects are.  I have even less idea how accurate the portrayal of the mob is.  I suspect that it pretty much is true but exaggerated.  I didn’t really care. At least, I don’t care as long as I stay away from that hospital.

This book was a fast, funny roller coaster, and I really enjoyed it.

If you think you might enjoy this one as well, I’m hosting a giveaway for Beat the Reaper until 10/22.

Thank you to Hachette Books for providing me with Beat the Reaper to review.

 
7 Comments

Posted by on October 16, 2009 in books, reviews

 

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “Review: Beat the Reaper by Josh Bazell

  1. Lisa

    October 17, 2009 at 8:26 am

    Sounds like fun! Any book that you enjoy enough to make you be able to overlook things that would ordinarily not be your thing is a book worth reading.

     
  2. Jenn

    October 17, 2009 at 9:23 am

    Hm, it sounds interesting. The parallel storylines sound intriguing, and I’m wondering how that works out. Thanks for the review, and I might check this one out if I see it! (:

     
  3. Susan Helene Gottfried

    October 17, 2009 at 10:15 am

    I’ve posted a ton of gives for this on Win a Book, but yours is the first review I’ve read. I’m not sold on it … yet. The ick factor and all…

     
  4. Belle

    October 17, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    “At least, I don’t care as long as I stay away from that hospital.” I loved this line in your review! This sounds like a fun read.

     
  5. Kristy

    October 26, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    I personally met Josh at the St Petersburg reading festival on Saturday. He’s absolutely the nicest guy. He was by far the most down to earth author at the entire festival. He did a reading and he was simply fantastic. I spoke to him briefly afterwards and found him to be quite the guy.

    http://www.festivalofreading.com/

     

Leave a Reply

 
