RSS

Giveaway: Life After Genius By M. Ann Jacoby

15 Oct

Life After GeniusWhen I heard about Life After Genius, I knew I wanted to read it, and I thought one of my book clubs would want to discuss it as well.

From the Hachette Books web site:

Theodore Mead Fegley has always been the smartest person he knows. By age 12, he was in high school, and by 15 he was attending a top-ranking university. And now, at the tender age of 18, he’s on the verge of proving the Riemann Hypothesis, a mathematical equation that has mystified academics for almost 150 years. But only days before graduation, Mead suddenly packs his bags and flees home to rural Illinois. What has caused him to flee remains a mystery to all but Mead and a classmate whose quest for success has turned into a dangerous obession.

At home, Mead finds little solace. His past ghosts haunt him; his parents don’t understand the agony his genius has caused him, nor his desire to be a normal kid, and his dreams seem crushed forever. He embarks on a new life’s journey — learning the family business of selling furniture and embalming the dead–that disappoints and surprises all who knew him as “the young Fegley genius.”

Equal parts academic thriller and poignant coming-of-age story, LIFE AFTER GENIUS follows the remarkable journey of a young man who must discover that the heart may know what the head hasn’t yet learned.

Once again, I’m posting the giveaway before my review, but I should have a chance to read it before this giveaway ends.

Thank you to Hachette Books for allowing me to host a giveaway of 5 copies of Life After Genius!

So:

  1. Leave a comment to enter.  I’ll get your e-mail address if you are on WordPress or you enter it where requested.  Make sure it is valid!
  2. If you have additional entries, you can leave them in the same comment.
  3. For another entry, let me know if you subscribe to my blog via RSS or e-mail, or if you follow me on Twitter. Thank you to my current subscribers, Welcome if you are new to my blog.
  4. One more entry if you let other people know about this giveaway! On your blog, on Twitter, another social site. Just let me know.
  5. As a bonus (for an additional entry) tell me about your favorite book about someone with an ability outside the usual.  Super smart, extra athletic, otherwise outside the mainstream.

Having an address (not a PO Box) in the US or Canada is a requirement. I’ll pick the winners on the evening of November 5.

 
45 Comments

Posted by on October 15, 2009 in books, giveaway

 

Tags: , ,

45 responses to “Giveaway: Life After Genius By M. Ann Jacoby

  1. Just Mom

    October 15, 2009 at 7:10 pm

    Please enter me in the giveaway and thanks for hosting.

    +1 I subscribe in Google reader.

    +1 The Mysterious benedict Society is a series of books that has a group of gifted children as the focus – my fourth grader is loving the series.

     
  2. Jonnie H

    October 15, 2009 at 8:27 pm

    I would love to be entered. Thank you.

     
  3. Lisa

    October 15, 2009 at 8:54 pm

    I’d love to read this. Thanks for hosting the giveaway.

    +1 I’m a Google reader subscriber

    litandlifeATgmailDOTcom

     
  4. nanscorner

    October 16, 2009 at 3:18 am

    I would love to be entered in this giveaway.

    +1 I’m a google reader subscriber.

    vtgoat[at]gmail[dot]com

     
  5. Pam R.

    October 16, 2009 at 6:19 am

    I’ve heard such great things about this book! I’d love to read it

    +1 subscribe via e-mail
    +1 subscribe via google reader

    melacan at hotmail dot com

     
  6. karen k

    October 16, 2009 at 6:54 am

    I would love the opportunity to read this book.

    I’m an email subscriber 🙂

     
  7. etirv

    October 16, 2009 at 11:23 am

    I would like to be entered! Fascinating book!

    Google reader subscriber!

    I also enjoyed reading Accidental Genius, a book about Michael Kearny who graduated from college at age 10 with a 3.6 GPA in Anthropology and continued on to do graduate work, earning a MS degree in Chemistry at age 14.

     
  8. Susan Helene Gottfried

    October 16, 2009 at 11:56 am

    No need to enter me, although I’m quite intrigued by this book. I’m dropping in to say thanks for the e-mail. I’ve got this posted at Win a Book for you.

     
  9. J.T. Oldfield

    October 16, 2009 at 2:53 pm

    Please enter me!

    j.t.oldfield[at]gmail.com

    I follow you w/ Google Reader
    I follow you on Twitter

     
  10. Jessica

    October 16, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    Please count me in.

    +1 My fav book like what you describe would be Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz who sees ghosts.

     
  11. Sarah Emmerson

    October 17, 2009 at 6:18 am

    Please enter me in this giveaway!

    +1 I subscribe via RSS feed.

    +1 My favorite book about someone with an outside the usual talent would be Firestarter by Stephen King, about a girl with exceptional pyrokinetic ability.

    saemmerson at yahoo dot com

    Sarah Emmerson

     
  12. Mozi Esmes Mommy

    October 17, 2009 at 7:58 am

    Looks like a great read!

    janemaritz at yahoo dot com

     
  13. Carla Pullum

    October 17, 2009 at 2:04 pm

    I would love to be entered!
    Carla
    cpullum(at)yahoo(dot)com

     
  14. linnahsu

    October 18, 2009 at 7:15 am

    I’d like to read this interesting book. 😀

    linna.hsu at gmail dot com

     
  15. mindy

    October 18, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    this sounds great thanks

     
  16. Haley

    October 18, 2009 at 2:41 pm

    enter me plz! haleymathiot at yahoo dot com

    +1 My fav. book with someone outside of average is twilight (:D) because WHAT’S BETTER THAN A MIND-READING VAMPIRE!! sorry. haha. a little excited there.

    +1 i follow you rss

    +1 i posted on my blog at http://haleymathiot.blogspot.com/2009/10/contests.html

    thx!

     
  17. Becca

    October 19, 2009 at 11:43 am

    Please enter me!

    I blogged about this here:
    http://completepoppycock.blogspot.com/2009/10/life-after-genius_19.html

    thanks

     
  18. Lindsayphoto

    October 20, 2009 at 8:16 am

    I would LOVE to win this!!
    Thankyou!! :D:D:D

    -Lindsay

    lindsay15photo@gmail.com

     
  19. booklogged

    October 21, 2009 at 3:31 pm

    Please throw my name in the hat for this one. I’ve seen some reviews around and it sounds like a good book.

    I follow via email.

    A series I like is Odd Thomas – he has the ability to see dead people.

     
  20. enyl

    October 21, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    My favorite book about a gifted person is With Gifted Hands about brain surgeon Ben Carson.

    I’m a subscriber.
    enyl(at)inbox(dot)com

     
  21. Sarah Emmerson

    October 22, 2009 at 12:53 pm

    tweet

    saemmerson at yahoo dot com

    Sarah Emmerson

     
  22. Jaime

    October 22, 2009 at 3:11 pm

    Would love to read this one. Thanks for your time

     
  23. Aliya D.

    October 22, 2009 at 8:29 pm

    I’d love to read this book… Sounds like a character that one can identify with.

    I have always loved the classic, ‘Flowers for Algernon’ which turns Charlie Gordon into a genius, though temporarily.

    Please accept this as my entry. Thank you!

    Aliya D.
    aliyadaya(at)shaw(dot)ca

     
  24. Kelly

    October 24, 2009 at 12:54 pm

    I’d love to win a copy of this! Sounds like a really good read. 🙂

     
  25. Alicia

    October 24, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    Would love to read this.

    Thanks for the giveaway >^..^<

     
  26. Dawn M.

    October 24, 2009 at 10:45 pm

    This sounds like a really good book. Would love the chance to read it. :0)

    I subscribe by email.

    Thanks!

     
  27. Lesly Orf

    October 27, 2009 at 11:04 am

    This book sounds great. Please enter me. Thanks.

     
  28. Bethie

    October 27, 2009 at 1:30 pm

    Please count me in. Thanks for the chance.

     
  29. Sharon A

    October 27, 2009 at 4:11 pm

    Based on the blip I would like to read this.

     
  30. Laura Johnson

    October 28, 2009 at 8:41 am

    Please enter me.
    Laura

     
  31. Debbie

    October 29, 2009 at 11:35 am

    Count me in.

     
  32. John

    October 29, 2009 at 11:36 am

    I’d love to win this book.

     
  33. Jason

    October 29, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    This sounds like a great book. Thanks for the chance

    jason(at)allworldautomotive(dot)com

     
  34. Kathy D

    October 29, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    Sounds like a great read…..

     
  35. Doreen

    October 31, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    This books sounds like something I would love. thanks
    I am a new subscriber and confirmed.
    Another book is the Secret. Shows us how to be extraordinary.

     
  36. Rashel

    November 2, 2009 at 5:30 pm

    I would love to be part of this!

     
  37. Ellie W

    November 3, 2009 at 7:54 pm

    Sounds like a great book. Thanks for the giveaway.
    eswright18 at gmail dot com

     
  38. Alexandrea M

    November 4, 2009 at 4:32 pm

    Interesting! I’ve known my fair share of smart people but not anybody who skipped that much school! I always imagined it was very hard on kids, and I wonder if the author had any experience being a genius themselves 🙂

     
  39. Ruth

    November 4, 2009 at 9:40 pm

    Please enter me in your contest!
    I subscribe to your blog and follow you on twitter.
    My favorite book about people with unusual abilities is Beggars in Spain – the sleeplessness may be a manufactured ability, but it makes for an interesting story!

     
  40. Cara Powers

    November 5, 2009 at 7:45 pm

    I follow you on twitter. My feedreader is out of control, so I’m not sure if you’re in it. My favorite book about a person with extra-ordinary abilities was Fire but now may be How to Make Friends with Demons. The protag sees other people’s suffering as demons. I like the UK title better – Memoirs of a Master Forger. I’m re-tweeting your give-away from @Ooh_Books.

     
  41. Aimee W.

    November 9, 2009 at 1:32 am

    Thanks so much for the giveaway — I have read some really good reviews for this book!

    +1 Subscribe via email

    +1 Follow on Twitter (Nelsby)

    +1 Tweet: http://twitter.com/Nelsby/status/5550118793

    +1 I shared this post on Ping.fm (username nelsby)

    +1 I shared this post on NetVibes (username Nelsby)

    +1 I shared this post on Delicious (username Nelsby)

    +1 I shared this post on Digg (username Nelsby)

    +1 I shared this post on Diigo (username jenaim)

    +1 I shared this post on StumbleUpon (username JenAim)

    +1 I shared this post on FriendFeed (username Nelsby)

    +1 I shared this post on Plurk (username Nelsby).

    +1 I shared this post on Tumblr (username Nelsby)

    +1 I shared this post on Twine (username Nelsby).

    Thanks!

     
 
