RSS

Mailbox Monday

11 Oct

I’m participating in Mailbox Monday from Marcia at The Printed Page.

I had two books arrive this week!

slaughterhouse-fiveThe first was a Twitter win from Random HouseSlaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut.

Random House asked the Twitterverse to describe their first experience with Vonnegut (in 140 characters or less). I was a very bored seventh grader, and a teacher pointed me to Player Piano. I went on to read many more. As a young teen, Slaughterhouse-Five wasn’t one of my favorites– I think I’ll appreciate it more now.

Freezing PointThe next arrival was Freezing Point by Karen Dionne. This eco-thriller came from the author, complete with a piece of obsidian from her research trip.  Susan at West Of Mars — Win A Book (a great place to find out about author interviews and book giveaways!) pointed her readers to an interview with Karen Dionne, where she offered a copy of her book to a commenter.  I won!  I’m excited about reading it, I love the concept of an ecological thriller.  I also loved this review at Critical Mick, it is fantastic for us science types.

What was in your mailbox?

 
10 Comments

Posted by on October 11, 2009 in books

 

Tags: ,

10 responses to “Mailbox Monday

  1. Literary Feline

    October 11, 2009 at 11:31 pm

    Those both look good, Laura. I’ve been really curious about Vonnegut’s work. I have one of his books on my TBR shelf to read. Mother Night, I believe. Enjoy your new books!

     
  2. Snowbell

    October 12, 2009 at 2:14 am

    I like the idea of an ecological thriller too (heck, any thriller is good in book…). Enjoy!
    Here’s my Mailbox

     
  3. Mary

    October 12, 2009 at 4:12 am

    I read the Vonnegut in high school or college. Probably should do a re-read someday. Have a good week!

     
  4. bermudaonion

    October 12, 2009 at 4:39 am

    I really want to read Freezing Point! How cool that you got a piece of obsidian too! Enjoy!

     
  5. kim

    October 12, 2009 at 5:12 am

    I’ve never read an ecological thriller so I am curious about that genre. Enjoy your books!

     
  6. gautami tripathy

    October 12, 2009 at 5:42 am

    Vonnegut never disappoints.

    Mondays: Mused/Amused etc etc

     
  7. sagustocox

    October 12, 2009 at 6:00 am

    Looks like you got a couple of good books…

    I assume that the stuff about player piano is what won you the copy?! Congrats.

    here’s my mailbox: http://www.savvyverseandwit.com/2009/10/mailbox-monday-51.html

     
  8. Wendi B ~ Wendi's Book Corner

    October 12, 2009 at 7:28 am

    Congrats on your win! Freezing Point sounds interesting. 🙂

    Here’s my Mailbox! ~ Wendi

     
  9. Kristen

    October 12, 2009 at 9:37 am

    So what was your winning Twitter comment? I’m so wordy I never win on Twitter. LOL!

     
  10. Vicki

    October 12, 2009 at 11:54 am

    Freezing Point looks very very very good!

     

Leave a Reply

 
