RSS

Giveaway: The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

04 Oct

Lovely BonesYes, another giveaway! I couldn’t pass up this chance, considering how much I enjoyed this book, and how much I’m looking forward to the movie.

I read The Lovely Bones for my Book Club L two years ago. I wasn’t pleased when my group selected it. I thought it sounded dark and depressing and not like something I wanted to read. But one of the reasons I participate in book clubs is to expand my horizons, and I picked it up, although not without some grumbling.

I loved it. It was still grim subject matter, but the way it was presented kept it manageable.  It was fresh, and it was truly unique.

I’m not posting a review at this point, because the details of a book start fading for me after a week, let alone years.

I’m not going to reread it right now because I’m in the “see the movie, then read the book camp”. It simply isn’t possible to include everything from a book in a movie, and I can enjoy the movie more if  I’m not mourning all the parts that were left out.  I don’t want the book fresh in my memory.

My book club like The Lovely Bones, and I think we had a good discussion (although my memory is a little fuzzy there as well).  There’s a Reading Guide posted if your book club wants some help with what to talk about (we frequently use them, although this one doesn’t look familiar).

I’m pretty sure we’ll pull together a book club movie night this December.

If you want to read the book before the movie is released, or if you want the book on hand for reading after seeing it, here is a chance!

Thank you to Hachette Books for allowing me to host a giveaway of 5 copies of The Lovely Bones!

So:

  1. Leave a comment to enter.  I’ll get your e-mail address if you are on WordPress or you enter it where requested.  Make sure it is valid!
  2. If you have additional entries, you can leave them in the same comment.
  3. For another entry, let me know if you subscribe to my blog via RSS or e-mail, or if you follow me on Twitter. Thank you to my current subscribers, Welcome if you are new to my blog.
  4. One more entry if you let other people know about this giveaway! On your blog, on Twitter, another social site. Just let me know.
  5. As a bonus (for an additional entry) tell me about your favorite movie adaptation of a book.

Having an address (not a PO Box) in the US or Canada is a requirement. I’ll pick the winners on the evening of October 24 25 (extended for one day).

 
31 Comments

Posted by on October 4, 2009 in books, giveaway

 

Tags: , ,

31 responses to “Giveaway: The Lovely Bones by Alice Sebold

  1. Haley

    October 4, 2009 at 11:19 am

    +1 posted on twitter (twitter.com/haleymathiot)

    +1 posted on sidebar (haleymathiot.blogspot.com)

    +1 i follow your blog on google

    +1 i follow you rss

    thx! haleymathiot at yahoo.com

     
  2. Jonnie H

    October 4, 2009 at 12:23 pm

    This book looks great, please enter me.

     
  3. FOKXXY

    October 4, 2009 at 6:32 pm

    I feel the same way! must see the movie then read the book. lol. I would love to be entered.

     
  4. Marjorie

    October 5, 2009 at 4:26 am

    A great giveaway, count me in.

    I am an email subscriber.
    I follow on google reader.

     
  5. Jen Forbus

    October 5, 2009 at 4:56 am

    I’m not entering the contest as I have this book in hardcover already. I, too, loved it. Usually I’m not a fan of movie adaptations of books. They never seem to do a book justice. Some tv miniseries have done decent jobs, but overall, naw. And while I understand the “see the movie first” concept, I can’t do that either. If I want to read a book, I must do so before seeing anything else. I want to be able to fully imagine the characters and setting and voices and everything without being prejudiced by images already provided for me. There have been several wonderful books I’ve not been able to read because I saw the movie first. It just doesn’t work for me. All that yammering said, I do LOVE the adaptation of TO KILL A MOCKINGBIRD and the Robert Redford version of THE GREAT GATSBY. I think both of those were done phenomenally well.

     
  6. Stacie

    October 5, 2009 at 5:57 am

    Thanks for the chance.

    I am an email subscriber.

     
  7. Susan Helene Gottfried

    October 5, 2009 at 8:23 am

    No need to enter me, my friend. I’m dropping in to say thanks for the e-mail. I’ve got this posted at Win a Book for you.

     
  8. Kathy

    October 5, 2009 at 8:34 am

    I would love to read this, thanks for having the contest!

    My favorite movie adaption from a book is Falling On Cedars, great book and a great movie.

    I’m an email subscriber

    I Tweeted here

     
  9. Lisa A.

    October 5, 2009 at 9:56 am

    I’d love to receive a copy of this book. I know it’s been popular for a while.

    I subscribe by email.

    My favorite film adaptation was “The Kite Runner.” I actually thought the film was better than the book (not so much non-stop misery, although there was plenty of that in the film, too!).

     
  10. Britt, Book Habitue

    October 5, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    Sounds intriguing.

    Already a follower.

    I really love Ella Enchanted even though it really in no way resembles the book!

     
  11. elaing8

    October 5, 2009 at 2:18 pm

    please enter me in the giveaway

    I subscribe by email

    books to movie-to Kill a Mockingbird,Of Mice and Men

     
  12. booklogged

    October 5, 2009 at 2:58 pm

    I would love to win this book.

    booklogged at gmail dot com

    I follow via email.

    Books to Movie – Scarlet Pimpernel starring Anthony Andrews & Jane Seymour

     
  13. amandasue

    October 5, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    I’ve read this book and LOVED it! Its seriously one of my favorite books. I’d love a chance to refresh and read it again and let me sister read it! Thanks for the chance.

    And my favorite book to movie is The Notebook!

    unforgetable_dreamer_always(at)hotmail.com

     
  14. Niveau

    October 6, 2009 at 12:33 am

    I’m so looking forward to this movie! I read this book about five years ago and loved it, so I hope the movie doesn’t let me down. I really need to re-read it before watching, though, because all I really remember about the book is that it was good.

    My favourite adaptation – do TV shows count? Because I’m actually really enjoying The Vampire Diaries. I like them more than I liked the books, and not only because of the attractive male actors. Though those do help. I just prefer the overall feeling of the show.

    I follow via RSS

     
  15. Mozi Esmes Mommy

    October 6, 2009 at 6:51 am

    I’d love to read this book!

    janemaritz at yahoo dot com

     
  16. Tina Kubala

    October 6, 2009 at 5:36 pm

    Something grim once in a while is good for the soul.

     
  17. Wanda

    October 6, 2009 at 8:03 pm

    I would love to be entered in your draw. Thanks.

    I subscribe via Google Reader.

    wandanamgreb(at)gmail(dot)com

     
  18. Debbie

    October 6, 2009 at 11:18 pm

    No need to enter me but I’ve also been debating if I should re-read this again. I remember it being really disturbing.

     
  19. Sue

    October 7, 2009 at 10:32 am

    I’d love a chance. Such a great book that I’d love to re-read. Thanks for sharing.

     
  20. Carla Pullum

    October 7, 2009 at 5:22 pm

    Would love to read this book!
    Count me in!
    Carla
    cpullum(at)yahoo(dot)com

     
  21. diane

    October 9, 2009 at 5:50 am

    please enter me; i am a subscriber–thanks

    bibliophilebythesea AT gmail DOT com

     
  22. Wanda

    October 10, 2009 at 7:47 am

    I would love to be entered in your draw.

    I subscribe via Google Reader.

     
  23. Marianna

    October 10, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    I’d love to win~

     
  24. Aliya D.

    October 10, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    I’ve never read this novel, but friends and family have been raving about it for years… Please accept this as my entry. Thank you!

    Aliya D.
    aliyadaya(at)shaw(dot)ca

     
  25. Beth

    October 12, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    This looks great! Please enter me!

    I’m a follower.

    BethsBookReviewBlog AT gmail DOT com

     
  26. Bethie

    October 12, 2009 at 7:57 pm

    Please enter me. Thanks for the giveaway.

    My fav movie adaptation is the English Patient. And of course Gone with the Wind.

     
  27. Rebecca N.

    October 15, 2009 at 9:12 am

    +1 I am so wanting to win this book! It’s going to be very sad I know, but I can’t wait to read it.

    +1 I subscribe via google reader

    +1 I Tweeted!

    +1 I think the movie I will love most will be Where the Wild Things Are! I also really loved, Bridge to Terabithia!

    Thanks for the awesome giveaway!

    imsosweepy { at } gmail { dot } com

     
  28. Anita Yancey

    October 18, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    I am very interested in this book. Please enter me. Thanks!

    I am an email subscriber!

    ayancey(at)dishmail(dot)net

     
  29. Beth(bookaholicmom)

    October 22, 2009 at 8:54 am

    Please enter me in the giveaway.

    I am a new email subscriber.

    Some of my favorite adaptations that haven’t been mentioned are The Deep End Of The Ocean, The Notebook and A Walk To Remember.

    bthgordon [at] yahoo [dot] com

     
 
