RSS

September Summary

01 Oct

Calendar-September18 books read in September, thanks to the short and sweet early Betsy Tacy books!  14 paper, 4 audiobooks.

I’m a little confused on my total books read, since my running total doesn’t match with a new check at GoodReads.    For now, I’ll go with my running record and I’ll straighten it out at the end of the year :-).

So: 101 books read so far this year!  39 of those are audiobooks, 72 paper.

On Paper

In Audio

I started out strong on the audiobooks, but didn’t finish any after the beginning of the month.

My favorite books of the month were Catching Fire and 31 Hours.

In Progress

I have a record 4 audiobooks in progress right now:

  1. The Deception of the Emerald Ring by Lauren Willig (which I was listening to when my MP3 player died 😦 )
  2. The Merchant of Death by D.J. McHale wasn’t quite working for me, but it was picking up. I’ve been convinced to come back to it and give it a second chance when I finish the next two books.
  3. The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley was next. I was enjoying it, but I realized I needed to get started on
  4. The Thirteenth Tale by Dianne Setterfield for my book club M meeting next Monday. I’m enjoying it!

Upcoming

On paper, I’m just about to start

  1. Breaking the Bank by Yona Zeldis McDonough (for a blog tour next Monday)
  2. Betsy Was a Junior/ Betsy and Joe by Maud Hart (for a blog tour next Tuesday)

After that, I have very few commitments at the moment:

  • I’ll read Beat the Reaper by Josh Bazell as soon as I get my copy.
  • I’m reading The Financial Lives of the Poets by Jess Walter for a blog tour on October 20.
  • For Book Club L, I’m reading The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman and The Jungle Book by Rudyard Kipling.
  • The next book for Book Club M is The Help by Kathryn Stockett.

Challenges

I joined a new challenge this month:
Clear Off Your Shelves Challenge at S. Krishna’s Books.

During October and November, I’m going to make an effort to read books that are already on my shelves (or floor, or Audible manager).  Other than the book listed above, I don’t think I have anything new coming in for review.  I’m trying to continue my restraint through the rest of this year, I think.

I’m expecting most of my progress will come during the 24 hour read-a-thon.  I hope I’ll be able to work out the details, and try to spend 24 hours reading and talking about my reading progress on October 24-25.

I have two challenges in progress.

Sookie Stackhouse For the Sookie Stackhouse Challenge, I’m planning to read all 9 of Charlaine Harris’s Sookie Stackhouse books by the end of the year.  I’ve read 4 so far:

  1. Dead Until Dark
  2. Living Dead in Dallas
  3. Club Dead
  4. Dead to the World

I hope to listen to one or two more during October.

everythingausten2The other is the Everything Austen Challenge.  For this one, I’ll be reading or watching 6 Jane Austen related items by the end of the year.  So far, I have

  1. 1972 BBC production of Emma
  2. An Assembly Such as This by Pamela Aidan
  3. Emma (movie)

This month,I’ll probably read one of the two Austen-related books I bought for the challenge, to help make progress towards clearing my shelves.  I’m tempted to have two of the slots be the newer BBC production of Emma and the movie Clueless.

Giveaways

I have two giveaways running right now:

Thanks for sticking with me through this rather long summary.

One last note

October 17 will be my 6 month bloggiversary.  Does that mean I’ll have to stop referring to my blog as new, or can I keep that qualifier until I reach a year?

I hope you had a good September, and have a better October.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on October 1, 2009 in books, summary

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “September Summary

  1. Just Mom

    October 1, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    Your summary is quite impressive – you have accomplished a lot!

     
  2. Jen Forbus

    October 2, 2009 at 6:00 am

    I can’t wait to hear what you thought about THE HELP. I still have to write my review but we just discussed it last night at my book club meeting. We get to meet Kathryn Stockett in March as she will be at our industry’s convention. Very exciting!

     
  3. Britt, Book Habitue

    October 2, 2009 at 9:18 am

    Finally joined the Clear off your shelves challenge… after counting over 250 unread books on my shelves. EEK.

    I liked A Note From an Old Acquantaince more than I thought I was going to. 😀

    I really need to read The Jungle Book!

     
  4. Jess

    October 2, 2009 at 3:50 pm

    Wow, you really kicked butt in September! You had said you’ve got Vision in White and One Deadly Sin waiting for you, read them when you get a chance! I’m dying to know what you thought of them.

     
  5. Belle

    October 2, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    What an impressive month you’ve had! I want to read Thirteenth Tale – need to decide whether to read it in print or listen to it in audio.

     
  6. nanscorner

    October 3, 2009 at 5:18 am

    Wow! September was a good month for you! Have a good October.

     
  7. BookwormMari

    October 3, 2009 at 7:09 am

    You amaze me! I need to click to your 31 hours post. I might pick this one up. So many good books out this fall.

     

Leave a Reply

 
