RSS

Giveaway: Beat the Reaper by Josh Bazell

01 Oct

BeattheReaper_blueCode Blue!

Edit: I’ve posted my review of Beat the Reaper!

Beat the Reaper by Josh Bazell looks like an exciting and funny medical thriller.

From the Hachette Books web site:

Dr. Peter Brown is an intern at Manhattan’s worst hospital, with a talent for medicine, a shift from hell, and a past he’d prefer to keep hidden. Whether it’s a blocked circumflex artery or a plan to land a massive malpractice suit, he knows what evil lurks in the hearts of men.

Pietro “Bearclaw” Brnwna is a hitman for the mob, with a genius for violence, a well-earned fear of sharks, and an overly close relationship with the Federal Witness Relocation Program. More likely to leave a trail of dead gangsters than a molecule of evidence, he’s the last person you want to see in your hospital room.

Nicholas LoBrutto, aka Eddy Squillante, is Dr. Brown’s new patient, with three months to live and a very strange idea: that Peter Brown and Pietro Brnwa might-just might-be the same person …

Now, with the mob, the government, and death itself descending on the hospital, Peter has to buy time and do whatever it takes to keep his patients, himself, and his last shot at redemption alive. To get through the next eight hours-and somehow beat the reaper.

In an unusual move for this blog, I’m posting the giveaway before my review! I’ll add the link to my review when it is done (I’m still waiting on my copy of Beat the Reaper!).  Here it is.

While you are waiting for the book, watch the book trailer above or check out the game at www.beatthereaper.com.  You can also read an excerpt from the book or listen to a sample from the audiobook while you are there. If the book is as funny as the game, we’re in for a good ride. If the field of medicine is anything like the game, everyone should be happy I didn’t become a doctor.

You can check out the Reading Group Guide as well, but beware of spoilers. It’s also coming soon to the big screen (book club movie night!).

The giveaway

Thank you to Hachette Books for allowing me to host a giveaway of 5 copies of Beat the Reaper!

So:

  1. Leave a comment to enter. I’ll get your e-mail address if you are on WordPress or you enter it where requested.  Make sure it is valid!
  2. If you have additional entries, you can leave them in the same comment.
  3. For another entry, let me know if you subscribe to my blog via RSS or e-mail, or if you follow me on Twitter. Thank you to my current subscribers, Welcome if you are new to my blog.
  4. One more entry if you let other people know about this giveaway! On your blog, on Twitter, another social site. Just let me know.
  5. As a bonus (for an additional entry) tell me about either your favorite medical related book or your favorite funny book/author!

Having an address (not a PO Box) in the US or Canada is a requirement. I’ll pick the winners on the evening of October 22.

 
51 Comments

Posted by on October 1, 2009 in books, giveaway

 

Tags: , ,

51 responses to “Giveaway: Beat the Reaper by Josh Bazell

  1. Michele P.

    October 1, 2009 at 7:30 pm

    Would love to win, please add me. Have a wonderful weekend as well…

    bonus entry: I used to love the late Erma Bombeck, her books were so funny about families and raising kids. I read them when I was much younger, and now have to say I agree with everything she is saying! lol.

     
  2. booklogged

    October 2, 2009 at 1:10 am

    Whoa! That trailer really grabs! Please enter me.

    I subscribe through email.

    Funny author – I like Terry Pratchett’s Discworrld. My favorite is Mort. Another is Jasper Fforde. Both these authors make me laugh but they also write good novels.

     
  3. Audrey

    October 2, 2009 at 1:54 am

    A medical mystery thriller. Sounds interesting! Count me in!
    And I follow your blog, although I’m not entirely sure how (google friend connect, I think?)
    And, I don’t really like Terry Pratchett very much, but my favorite funny book is “Good Omens” by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett. Perhaps I love it so much because I am obsessed with Neil Gaiman?

     
  4. Jen Forbus

    October 2, 2009 at 5:57 am

    This book has received FABULOUS reviews. I’ve had it on my TBR list for awhile now.

    While I don’t read a ton of medical mysteries where the doctors deal with live folks, I do read quite a few ME series: Thomas Holland’s Kel McKelvy, Kathy Reichs’ Temperance Brennan, Jonathan Hayes’ Edward Jenner. Karin Slaughter’s Grant Counter series also has a character that is a pediatrician some times and a coroner sometimes. I also enjoy Tess Gerritsen’s work, which falls into the medical thriller category.

    On the humorous side, I adore Tom Schreck who is hysterical. Louise Penny has a great sense of humor in her books, as does Robert Crais and Craig Johnson. All are crime fiction writers who know how to make effective use of GREAT humor.

    I follow you on Twitter Laura and I also subscribe via email to your blog! Fun stuff!!

     
  5. fokxxy

    October 2, 2009 at 6:35 am

    Gotta say: I love the sounds of this one!! Please enter me. Looks like a real page turner!

     
  6. Kathy

    October 2, 2009 at 6:43 am

    Would love to read this,please enter me, thanks!

    I’m a subscriber

    Tweeted here

    My favorite funny author is Terry Pratchett and his Discworld series

     
  7. Lisa A.

    October 2, 2009 at 6:59 am

    This book sounds like a real page-turner! I’d love to win it!

    I’m a follower on Twitter (@angloaddict) and I subscribe by email.

    My favorite medical author (well, she’s a doctor!) is Tess Gerritsen. For funny, you can’t beat Bill Bryson!

     
  8. Cheryl M

    October 2, 2009 at 10:08 am

    Please enter me for this giveaway. My favorite genre of reads is that of suspense. Add to that I am of Italian descent and a retired Registered Nurse. From your review, I am definitely adding this one to my TBR list.

    Am a Follower.

    Am a subscriber to newsletter.

    Bonus: Would have to say Robin Cook.

     
  9. Jessica

    October 2, 2009 at 10:32 am

    Please count me in. I am very much wanting to read this book it sounds so good and the trailer for it looks awesome.

    I think Carl Hiaasen books are hilarious.

    jessica(at)fan(dot)com

     
  10. Stacie

    October 2, 2009 at 10:47 am

    Please count me in!

    As for a book, I like Robin Cook for fiction. For non-fiction, I would have to say The V Book is a must for all women.

     
  11. Crystal

    October 2, 2009 at 11:36 am

    Please enter me.

    I subscribe by email and follow you on twitter.

    My most recent medical suspense book was Flawless by Joshua Spanogle. I really enjoyed it. I read all of Robin Cook’s books too.

     
  12. karen k

    October 2, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    I’ve read many good reviews on this book…please count me in.

    I’m an email subscriber…

    I enjoy medical thrillers by Harry Kraus, MD.

     
  13. Susan Helene Gottfried

    October 2, 2009 at 2:05 pm

    Hi, Laura! No need to enter me. I’m dropping in to say thanks for the e-mail. I’ve got this up at Win a Book for you.

     
  14. Framed

    October 2, 2009 at 2:49 pm

    I’d love to enter. I just read “Framed” by Frank Boyce Cottrell and thought it was hilarious. For medical thrillers, I like Michael Connelly’s books or Tess Gerritsen.

     
  15. Haley

    October 2, 2009 at 3:10 pm

    one of my favorite authors, some of his books are pretty funny at times, is James Patterson.

    I follow your blog on rss feed

    I linked this giveaway on my sidebar haleymathiot.blogspot.com

    thx! haleymathiot at yahoo.com

     
  16. etirv

    October 2, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    I would like to be entered!

    I subscribe via google reader!

    My favorite funny author is Nora Ephron whose book “I Hate My Neck…” I really enjoyed reading!

    delilah0180(at)yahoo(dot)com

     
  17. nanscorner

    October 3, 2009 at 5:16 am

    I’d love to win this book.

    I subscribe to your feed through google reader.

    One of my favorite funny authors is Christopher Moore.

     
  18. Tracey D (bl0226)

    October 3, 2009 at 10:21 am

    This sounds like a fun book; I look forward in reading it.

    Thanks,
    Tracey D
    booklover0226 AT gmail DOT com

    I subscribe via email.
    I follow on Twitter (as bl0226)

    I recently read A Case of Need by Michael Crichton. It was very good. I was thrown off balance at first, though. The main character needed to make a phone call and went to a phone booth. I thought, why didn’t he use his cell phone??? Then I checked the date the book was published… 1968! Well, no wonder he didn’t use a cell phone. LOL

     
  19. Beth M

    October 4, 2009 at 7:46 am

    Please enter me. Thanks for the giveaway.

     
  20. Beverly S

    October 4, 2009 at 10:45 am

    One of the first medical books I ever read was Coma by Robin Cook. It really felt real to me. I was 13 years old.

     
  21. Sarah Z

    October 4, 2009 at 5:47 pm

    Sounds like a great read!!

     
  22. Becca

    October 4, 2009 at 7:01 pm

    Please enter me!

    I follow you on twitter
    @Beckster000

    I blogged about it here:
    http://completepoppycock.blogspot.com/2009/10/beat-reaper.html

    Tweeted!

    My favorite funny author is Donald Westlake and his Dortmunder books.

     
  23. Mary D

    October 5, 2009 at 4:47 pm

    Please enter me, I would so enjoy reading this 🙂

    And for a bonus entry:
    The funniest book I’ve ever read was FUNNY FARM by J. Cronley – forget the movie, the book was hysterical!

     
  24. Ladytink_534

    October 5, 2009 at 10:52 pm

    Love the trailer! I want to read this 🙂

     
  25. Ladytink_534

    October 5, 2009 at 10:53 pm

    My favorite funny book is Denis Leary’s Why We Suck at the moment

     
  26. Niveau

    October 6, 2009 at 12:27 am

    Please enter me – I follow via RSS. My favourite funny book isn’t a book by traditional standards. It’s the Skip Beat! manga series. I cannot read it without laughing my head off at least three times a volume. I don’t even try to read it outside of the house anymore because when I do, people end up looking at me like I’m a lunatic due to the laughter. But that’s a good thing!

     
  27. ruth

    October 6, 2009 at 4:01 pm

    Thanks for this giveaway. It looks amazing. A medical book that was intriguing was Oxygen by Carol Cassella.

     
  28. Ruth Ann

    October 7, 2009 at 6:52 am

    Looks like a great book. Thanks for the chance to win!

    My favorite medical related books are written by Kathy Reichs. I like her Temperance Brennan, forensic anthropologist, books, especially Fatal Voyage and Cross Bones.

     
  29. Marjorie

    October 10, 2009 at 5:38 am

    Nothing like a hospital mystery, please count me in.

    I am a follower.

     
  30. kim

    October 12, 2009 at 5:19 am

    I want to read Beat the Reaper so I’m throwing my hat into the ring for this giveaway.

    I subscribe.

    Blogged about the giveaway here (current giveaways sidebar) http://metroreader.blogspot.com/

    My favorite funny author is David Sedaris.

     
  31. Vicki Wurgler

    October 12, 2009 at 10:23 am

    this sounds good-please sign me up

     
  32. JenniferK

    October 12, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    Oh I have been wanting to read this for some time now. Count me in. I’m a new follower on Google.

    I read so many things but one of my favorite funny authors is Bill Bryson. That man can make me laugh out loud in any crowded location while reading. He doesn’t write medical related books – more travel oriented.

    jricciut@hotmail.com

     
  33. Carol M

    October 13, 2009 at 11:35 am

    I enjoy any kind of medical thriller. This one sounds good!

    I subscribe by email.

    Tess Gerritsen’s books are very good.

     
  34. Mel K.

    October 13, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    I like CJ Lyons’s medical books. LIFELINES was really good and I’m looking forward to reading WARNING SIGNS and URGENT CARE.
    I really want to win BTR. Supposed to be a great read for Halloween. I love Halloween and scary stories. Thanks!

    Mel K.
    Meljprincess AT aol DOT com

     
  35. linnahsu

    October 16, 2009 at 6:51 am

    I’d like to read this book. Please enter me.

    linna.hsu at gmail dot com

     
  36. Just Mom

    October 16, 2009 at 12:52 pm

    Please count me in for the giveaway!

    +1 I subscribe to yrou blog via Google Reader.

    another +1 my favorite humorist is David Sedaris, but my all time favorite funny book is Can You Keep A Secret by Sophie Kinsella

     
  37. Lisa

    October 17, 2009 at 8:29 am

    I just came from your review of this book and was surprised to see a different book cover here. Sounds like a fun read!

    +1 I’m a Google reader follower

    +1 my current fav humorist is David Sedaris

     
  38. Cheryl M

    October 17, 2009 at 11:46 am

    This is definitely a book for me being Italian and a retired Registered Nurse. I understand the “medical humor”. Will be putting this on my TBR list

     
  39. Cheryl M

    October 17, 2009 at 11:47 am

    Am a subscriber of email newsletter.

     
  40. Cheryl M

    October 17, 2009 at 11:48 am

    I have read many of Robin Cook’s novels containing medical story line.

     
  41. Belle

    October 17, 2009 at 3:43 pm

    You’ve sold me on this one with your review! (btw I think I included this in a previous giveaways list, back before it became the international book giveaways list!).

     
  42. Shawna Lewis

    October 19, 2009 at 11:53 am

    weloveourdogs@juno.com

    Ok lets see…. I really do enjoy Robin Cook’s books they are Medical & he’s a real Dr. so they are very good!!
    I also like some of the CSI books out too.

    I follow your blog

    I follow you on twitter

    I subscribe to your feed & e-mail

    I have you on my side bar

    I tweeted http://twitter.com/theblindcupid/status/4997601449

    I posted on Facebook http://www.facebook.com/LeslieBlodgettPerfumeDiaries?v=wall#/posted.php?id=1259591812&share_id=154698012103&comments=1#s154698012103

    Thanks for this chance to win this neat book!!!

     
  43. Jon

    October 20, 2009 at 9:37 am

    Your site looks great. I sure would love to win this book.

     
  44. Debbie W.

    October 20, 2009 at 9:29 pm

    I love thrillers. walkerd@primus.ca

     
  45. Jaime

    October 21, 2009 at 11:39 pm

    Thank for your review and giveaway, please enter me

     
  46. Cynthia M.

    October 22, 2009 at 8:44 pm

    -I would love to win this book! Sounds very interesting.

    -I’m an email subscriber 🙂 and I follow you on Twitter as @theothercyntwit

    -I tweeted this giveaway: http://twitter.com/THEotherCYNtwit/statuses/5088456279

    -My favorite funny book author is Janet Evanovich. I love her Stephanie Plum series!

     
 
