RSS

The View From Monday

28 Sep

booksI’m participating in It’s Monday, What are you reading? at J. Kaye’s Book Blog.  Head over there to see what others are reading.

This week, I

  • finished Second Honeymoon by Joanne Trollope (and discussed it at my book club)
  • read The Smart One and the Pretty One by Claire LaZebnik (I’m hoping to have my overdue review and giveaway up today!).
  • read Heaven to Betsy by Maude Hart Lovelace (I’m hoping the have the review of the first four Betsy-Tacy books up tomorrow, and then review this one and Betsy In Spite of Herself on Friday).
  • I’ll finish A Gate at the Stairs by Lorrie Moore today, in time to discuss it at Twitter Book Club tonight.  (I hope to post my review on Wednesday.  We’ll see.)

I finished no audiobooks last week.

  • It just isn’t the same without my own player.  I’ve been looking into replacements– anyone have a recommendation for an MP3 player that supports bookmarks and plays protected WMA files (so no Ipod!)?
  • I admit, the start of the fall TV season really cut back on my listening time.
  • I finally bailed on The Merchant of Death by D.J. McHale.  Bobby Pendragon was acting all to much like a young teenager, and the book just wasn’t grabbing me.  It actually was coming together a little better after the halfway point, so I may pick it up again later.
  • I started listening to The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley. I’m enjoying it when I listen, but it isn’t encouraging me to pick up my player.
  • I don’t know why I’m using a list for this section.  Maybe it makes me feel more organized.

I have coming up:

  • The Thirteenth Tale by Dianne Setterfield for my other book club next Monday. (I’m planning on listening to this one– there goes the rest of The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie)
  • The next three Betsy-Tacy books for a blog tour of Betsy and Joe a week from Tuesday.
  • I have another blog tour scheduled for next Monday, but if the book doesn’t arrive by tomorrow (Wednesday at the latest), I’m not sure I can make the date.
  • And one more book that was supposed to be up in September, but again, I don’t have the book yet!

I posted this to Twitter, but I thought I’d show you why I looked everywhere for my book one day this week. The (white ribbon) bookmark gave it away in the end.

missing book

I hope you have a great reading week!

 
15 Comments

Posted by on September 28, 2009 in books, summary

 

Tags: ,

15 responses to “The View From Monday

  1. Kristen

    September 28, 2009 at 10:49 am

    I’m so impressed you looked closely enough to find the book. LOL! I never would have found it. By the by, your white fur ball looks darling.

     
  2. Bluestocking

    September 28, 2009 at 12:12 pm

    The Thirteenth Tale is good! Here is mine

     
  3. tea

    September 28, 2009 at 12:28 pm

    A guy was talking about “The Gate at The Stairs” Saturday. He recommended it as a good read.

    http://readwithtea.blogspot.com/2009/09/what-are-you-reading-mondays.html

     
  4. vmlay

    September 28, 2009 at 12:49 pm

    The Thirteenth Tale is quite good, I really enjoyed it.

    I love the kitty sleeping on the book — good to know it’s just not mine who do that and then I spend forever searching for the book 🙂 I have two twenty-pound furballs who hide books quite well!

     
  5. vmlay

    September 28, 2009 at 12:51 pm

    I forgot to say you can find my list here:

    http://vmlay.wordpress.com/

     
  6. Mary

    September 28, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    Have a good week!

     
  7. Sue

    September 28, 2009 at 1:27 pm

    Wow, you’ve sure been busy, Laura! Sorry to hear you’re still player-less – I hope you find a replacement soon.

    I am a huge fan of the Pendragon books! I’ve read everything up to book 8 (all that’s out in paperback). My 15-year old son and I love the series. A few years ago, I started reading the first book for a review I was writing for Family Fun magazine, and I ended up reading the first 3 books in quick succession! Definitely give the series another chance – it just gets better and better. I have a couple of Pendragon reviews at Great Books for Kids and Teens, if you’re interested (no plot spoilers!).

    Enjoy your books this week –

    Sue

     
  8. J. Kaye

    September 28, 2009 at 2:52 pm

    I am so glad you are planning to listen to Dianne Setterfield’s book. I did and the narrator was so good!

     
    • Laura at Im Booking It

      September 28, 2009 at 8:14 pm

      Months ago, I saw several reviews (probably including yours) that said the audio was really good, so I made sure I noted that was how I wanted to read it.

       
  9. Ruth

    September 28, 2009 at 8:06 pm

    I finished listening to Merchant of Death and ended up really liking it. I was trying out the double speed feature on my iPod, and enjoyed having it go a little faster than normal, though, so I may have missed something 🙂

     
    • Laura at Im Booking It

      September 28, 2009 at 8:12 pm

      I’m beginning to think that in general, listening to kids books might not be the best idea for me– I really want to pick up the pace, and I don’t have that option!

       
  10. alitareads

    September 28, 2009 at 8:15 pm

    That picture is so cute! Looks like you have another book lover in the house 🙂

    I have Thirteenth Tale on my to-read list. I’m really looking forward to that one.

     
  11. Ruthie

    September 29, 2009 at 8:41 am

    Happy reading this week! 😀

     
  12. Dawn

    September 29, 2009 at 11:00 am

    What a great week in reading! Aren’t the Betsy-Tacy books fun?! I didn’t read them as a kid, and I’m glad I have the chance now.

     
  13. frootjoos

    October 19, 2009 at 9:24 am

    Trying not to splurge on the Batsy-Tacy books…. may ask for them for Xmas! (But will probably break down and buy them before then)

    WRUR: http://wp.me/pBVdc-7p

     

Leave a Reply

 
