RSS

New Challenge: Clear Off Your Shelves

23 Sep

I’m signing up for the Clear Off Your Shelves Challenge at S. Krishna’s Books.

I’m committing to make an effort to read books already on my shelf.  To qualify a book needs to be something I bought before the challenge started or a review book over 6 months old.  Since my 6 months bloggiversary happens during this challenge, I only have one book that qualifies under this provision.

I’ve already started cutting back on new books, and will try to bring in even less over the next few months.

Since I will have book club books to acquire and read, and I have a backlog of review books I also want to get to,  I’m only signing up for 20%: 1 in 5 books read being from my shelves.  I suspect most of these will be read during the read-a-thon, if I am able to participate.

I’m including audiobooks in this, since I do have books I’ve bought from Audible and never listened to.

Wish me luck– I think I’ll feel better if I see some changes in my TBR shelf, although I have many books to read that aren’t there!

 
9 Comments

Posted by on September 23, 2009 in blogging

 

Tags: ,

9 responses to “New Challenge: Clear Off Your Shelves

  1. Lisa

    September 23, 2009 at 9:56 pm

    I’ve gotta get over and sign up for this one!

     
  2. Audrey

    September 24, 2009 at 4:22 am

    I’m headed over to sign up for this right now!

     
  3. Jen Forbus

    September 24, 2009 at 5:00 am

    You go, girl! I have review books scheduled to read all the way through the end of the year or I’d be participating in this one, too!

     
  4. kim

    September 24, 2009 at 5:33 am

    I think I need to check into this challenge.

     
  5. April

    September 24, 2009 at 6:09 am

    What an awesome challenge! I could definitely use this one, but I am afraid it would take me about 5 years to clear off my shelf (at least, lol) Good luck and good for you!! I will be cheering you on!

     
  6. Britt, Book Habitue

    September 24, 2009 at 1:02 pm

    Sigh. I really should join this one…. but it would entail actually figuring out how many books I own that I’ve not read…. And I’m not sure I want to know. 😉

     
  7. BookwormMari

    September 24, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    Good for you – reading shouldn’t cause stress 🙂

    I might need to sign up for this challenge (I have never done a challenge before but this sounds productive).

     
  8. S. Krishna

    October 7, 2009 at 6:24 am

    I’m counting on my Read-a-Thon books to help me with this challenge as well. Good luck and thanks for joining!

     

Leave a Reply

 
