RSS

The View from Monday

20 Sep

book pileI’m participating in It’s Monday, What are you reading? at J. Kaye’s Book Blog.  Head over there to see what others are reading.

I’m looking back over two weeks, because with all the activity around Book Blogger Appreciation Week, I finally gave up on writing mine last week.

Looking Back

Books I’ve read:

I’m very behind on audiobooks because my MP3 player is dead (sob!).

I have a USB cable I use to charge it in the car.

I have a cable that I thought was exactly the same. It has the same connectors on each end. It charges the tire pressure monitoring system.

I grabbed that cable out of the console and plugged in my player. It went click, and now I have no more player.

(Actually, I have my old one that I’d given to my husband, but I think I’m too sad to listen to it).

The View Forward

I’ve got lots of reading to do:

  • I’m currently reading Second Honeymoon by Joanne Trollope for book club Thursday.
  • The Smart One and the Pretty One by Claire LaZebnik for a Hachette giveaway.
  • A Gate at the Stairs by Lorrie Moore for Twitter Book Club next Monday.
  • The Thirteenth Tale by Dianne Setterfield for my other book club in two weeks. (At least I can listen to this one!)
  • The next four Betsy Tacy books for a blog tour of Betsy and Joe in two weeks.
  • And I think last week I agreed to read and review two other books during this time.  Maybe I just imagined it.  I really wanted to read them both, and I couldn’t say no.  Still, I’m somewhat dreading their arrival.  But I’m also really looking forward to it.

There’s one more problem.  TV season is starting! I like watching TV.  I particularly like checking out the new shows.

I just need to figure out how to go without sleep.  That’s what I need.

While I’m working on that, check out my

Giveaways!

How to Tame a Modern Rogue by Diana Holquist ends Sept. 22 (this Tuesday!)

The Way Home by George P. Pelecanos ends Oct. 2

And keep an eye out for The Smart One and the Pretty One by Claire LaZebnik later this week.

Enjoy your reading!

 
15 Comments

Posted by on September 20, 2009 in books, summary

 

Tags: ,

15 responses to “The View from Monday

  1. Alaine Bucknall

    September 20, 2009 at 11:47 pm

    I’d sob if my IPod died as well. It’s so hard to keep track of so many electrical connectors.

    Hope you have a good week reading, sounds like a busy one planned!

     
  2. gautami tripathy

    September 21, 2009 at 4:38 am

    I finished reading A Note From An Old Acquaintance by Bill Walker and review will come up tonight.

    Musing/Mailbox Mondays

     
  3. Maree

    September 21, 2009 at 4:44 am

    Busy week ahead. Good luck and happy reading! 🙂

     
  4. Jennifer

    September 21, 2009 at 5:21 am

    The Thirteenth Tale is fabulous! I also read The Smart One and the Pretty One. Happy reading! My are here: http://rundpinne.blogspot.com/2009/09/what-are-you-reading-monday_21.html

     
  5. Bookjourney

    September 21, 2009 at 6:33 am

    31 Hours is in my TBR as well. This should be a great read….

     
  6. Mary

    September 21, 2009 at 6:35 am

    Enjoy your reading this week. We have DVR so I can watch “my shows” whenever – and zip through commercials, yay 😀

     
    • Laura at Im Booking It

      September 21, 2009 at 6:39 pm

      3 people, 4 DVRs in this house. We’re serious about our TV viewing here :-).

       
  7. Lisa (Books and Cooks)

    September 21, 2009 at 7:19 am

    The 13th Tale is one of my all-time favorite books! I hope you love it too! I’m just starting the Southern Vampire Series with Dead Until Dark. Enjoy your books this week!

     
  8. miss cindy :)

    September 21, 2009 at 7:41 am

    how did you like dead to the world? mine is here

     
  9. J. Kaye Oldner

    September 21, 2009 at 7:54 am

    Your MP3 player is dead!?! **SCREAM** What a nightmare!

     
  10. Ruthie

    September 21, 2009 at 8:43 am

    Have a great reading week! 😀

     
  11. tea

    September 21, 2009 at 9:52 am

    I want to read Masha Hamilton’s book and The Way Home. Enjoy!

    http://readwithtea.blogspot.com/2009/09/what-are-you-reading-monday.html

     
  12. Britt, Book Habitue

    September 21, 2009 at 11:44 am

    NCIS, the NEW NCIS AND Criminal Minds start this week…. AND The Mentalist….
    And Numb3rs will start in a couple of weeks…..

    This is why I read during commercial breaks. 😀

     
  13. Sue

    September 21, 2009 at 4:59 pm

    Wow, you read a lot in just two weeks! Sorry to hear about your MP3 player. My son’s iPod died a few weeks ago, and he was crushed! He loves music and was lost without it. He got a replacement one this week, and is so happy! Hope you can get back on track soon, too!

    And I’m interested to hear what you think about The Thirteenth Tale. I thought it was OK but not great, but some in my book group really loved it.

    Enjoy your reading week…

    Sue

     

Leave a Reply

 
