RSS

Mailbox Monday

20 Sep

I’m participating in Mailbox Monday from Marcia at The Printed Page.

I had 3 books enter my house this week!

my life in franceMy Life in France by Julia Child snuck in to my cart at Costco.  I’ve got to watch more carefully when I’m in the book aisle.  They only other place this happens is the chocolate area.  I can’t imagine why.

I have a plan– one of my book clubs is going to read Julie and Julia by Julie Powell.  Since I’ve already read it, I’m going to try to remember enough to avoie rereading it.  I’ll read My Life in France instead, which should be a fun addition to the meeting.

Second HoneymoonThe Amazon package on my doorstep contained my next Book Club book.  We’re reading and discussing Second Honeymoon by Joanna Trollope on Thursday this week.

A Gate at the StairsThe other arrival was this month’s Twitter Book Club book, A Gate at the Stairs by Lorrie Moore. There was a bit of confusion around this one, since the notification that I won a copy went to my spam folder, and I didnt know I was a winner until I went to the web site to confirm details.  This wouldn’t have been a big deal, but the books were delayed in shipping. I’d actually thought about sitting this month out for logistical reasons, but of course, I won’t do that now!

Thank you to The Book Studio and Random House for sending this to me!

 
9 Comments

Posted by on September 20, 2009 in books

 

Tags: ,

9 responses to “Mailbox Monday

  1. Audrey

    September 21, 2009 at 1:56 am

    I’m looking forward to seeing what you have to say about “My Life in France.” I’ve been hesitatant about reading it because every time I read a book with France in the title, I end up disliking it. This one looks good, though, so a good review might be just what I need.
    Oh, and the exact same thing happens to me in both the book and chocolate aisles.

     
  2. bermudaonion

    September 21, 2009 at 4:33 am

    I love who that book snuck into your cart! It obviously needed a good home! Happy reading!

     
  3. Staci

    September 21, 2009 at 4:47 am

    My Life in France sounds great!!! Enjoy!!

     
  4. Mary

    September 21, 2009 at 5:07 am

    I think I’d rather read My Life in France than Julie & Julia.

    I’m curious about the Trollope book – haven’t heard of it before.

    I seldom leave Costco without a book : )

     
  5. Kim

    September 21, 2009 at 6:07 am

    I think your plan of reading the Julia Child book sounds like a good idea. It should make for a deeper discussion.

    I’m still trying to read Julie & Julia (maybe one of these days).

    Enjoy your books!

     
  6. Zia

    September 21, 2009 at 7:43 am

    My life in France looks like a good read.

     
  7. Beth

    September 21, 2009 at 7:53 am

    I hate when books and/or chocolate fly into my shopping cart! It seems to happen alot! All 3 books sound really good. All these good mailbox postings are not good for my wishlist!

     
  8. Wendi B ~ Wendi's Book Corner

    September 21, 2009 at 8:42 am

    What a fun mailbox! I’m interested in Julie and Julia, and would love to hear how you like the other Julia Childs book! I had no idea there was a Twitter Book Club – I’ll have to go check it out.

    🙂 Here’s my Mailbox! ~ Wendi

     
  9. Beth F

    September 21, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    I loved My Life in France — hope you do too.

     

Leave a Reply

 
